Bethany professor in running for state honor

BETHANY – Lisa Reilly, associate professor of chemistry at Bethany College, is one of five finalists for Faculty Merit Foundation of West Virginia 2013 Professor of the Year.

It’s the third time in five years that a Bethany professor has been named a finalist, with biology professors John Burns and Albert “Jay” Buckelew finalists in 2008 and 2010.

The finalists and the 2013 Professor of the Year will be recognized at a banquet in Charleston on March 11. The professor of the year will receive a $10,000 award.

“We are pleased the Faculty Merit Foundation has again recognized the outstanding talent on our Bethany College faculty,” said Scott D. Miller, Bethany College president.

“Dr. Reilly embodies Bethany’s philosophy of outstanding teaching, advising and service to community. She devotes her full energy – inside and outside of the classroom – to enhancing the learning environment for our students,” Miller said.

Reilly has served on the Bethany faculty since 2008 and is currently chair of the physical science department. She earned a bachelor of science degree in chemistry from Mercyhurst College and a doctorate in analytical chemistry from Oklahoma State University.

In 2012 she received Bethany’s President’s Award for Excellence in Performance. She serves on various campus committees and as adviser to the Student Government Association, Alpha Xi Delta sorority and the Gamma Sigma Epsilon Chemistry Honors Society.

The Faculty Merit Foundation was created in 1984 to recognize and reward innovation and creativity among faculty at West Virginia’s public and private colleges and universities.