Three Score inducts new officers

WEIRTON – The Three Score Seniors held their Christmas meeting Dec. 20 at Undo’s at Holiday Inn – Weirton, with President Barbara Purks welcoming those in attendance.

Pat Deletka gave the invocation, followed by members reciting the Pledge of Allegiance and singing “God Bless America.”

After dinner, members voted to dispense with the secretary’s and treasurer’s reports.

Sunshine Chair Winnie Kemp sent get-well cards to Clara French, Patty Holt, Lester Stuckomayer, Joan Gallagher, Jean Burdett, Marian Lammers, Virginia Marston and Sam Lescallette. Marian Lammers and Mary Lou Deku sent the club thank-you cards. Members acknowledged December birthdays and sang “Happy Birthday” to Loretta Reynolds, Dick Bailey, Lillie Kolosky, Charles Buchanan, John Peterson and Joe Veltri. December anniversaries were acknowledged, and members sang “Happy Anniversary” to Larry and Barbara Purks and Charles and Joann Buchanan.

Membership Chair Josie Elliott thanked members who had paid their 2013 dues and asked those who hadn’t to do so at the earliest opportunity.

Reservation Chair Vivian Weigel announced 131 members were in attendance and gave the next meeting’s menu. She reminded members meals will be $12 in 2013.

Tour Chair Regina Truax announced the following trips:

Feb. 10, Rivers Casino in Pittsburgh;

April 11, Branson’s Ozark Jubilee at the Palace in Greensburg, Pa.; and

April 23-26, Atlantic City Bally’s.

For information, contact Truax at (304) 723-0419.

Historian Brenda Edwards took pictures of members and the 2013 officers.

Mary Margaret Klepaldo was complimented on her Christmas decorations.

Barbara Purks inducted the 2013 officers. They are President Frances “Cookie” Veltri, Vice President Rosemary Gaynor, Secretary Pat Deletka and Treasurer Joan Villa. Committee chairs for 2013 include Membership Chair Nancy Smurda, Reservation Chairs Vivian Weigel and Patty Holt, Publicity Chair Barbara Purks, Hospitality Chair Jim Hare, House Chair Mary Margaret Klepaldo, Sunshine Chair Winnie Kemp, Religion Chair Tony LaRosa, Tours Chair Regina Truax and Historian Brenda Edwards. The 2013 trustees include Jack Cummings, Sonny Marino, Betty Virtue and Marlene Hare.

Hare and Virtue awarded the two dinners, compliments of Undo’s, to Joann Buchanan and Jean Ray. Cummings awarded the 50/25/25 drawing to Walter Klepaldo and Joan Villa. Other prizes distributed included poinesttias, candy, nut rolls, fruit baskets and money.

Purks announced there will be no January meeting. Pat Deletka gave the benediction.

The next meeting will be held at 6 p.m. Feb. 28 at Undo’s at Holiday Inn – Weirton. For information or to join, call Veltri at (304) 748-3825.