School holds history bowl

WEIRTON – Weir Middle School eighth-graders participated in the second-annual Carter G. Woodson Black History Bowl Feb. 22.

Students studied the history of West Virginia’s all-black school and alumni, including Weirton’s Dunbar High School.

The West Virginia All Black Schools Sports and Academic Hall of Fame and John R. Jackson donated prizes. Helen Jackson-Gillison, hall of fame president and chief executive officer, attended the event and awarded prizes. The hall of fame was created to preserve the history of pre-Brown vs. Board of Education black education in West Virginia.

The winning team includes captain Zachary Hannah, Amelia Adams, Anna Creel, Jordan Allen, Matthew Komorowski, Megan Apesos, Ryan Austin and Michael Mills. Also participating were captain Cody Enrietti, Kimmy Jennings, Mya Sutton, Deyanna Kirby, Levi Mikula, Justin Roberts, Abby Cowher and Chayton Leuvano, and captain Adam Cowden, Sydney Upright, Alayna Degenhardt, Sydney Cain, Matthew Anderson, Donavan Spencer, Dominick Murphy and Abby Wallace. Anita Village was an alternate.