AARP Chapter 3846 holds meeting

WEIRTON – The April meeting of AARP Chapter 3846 was called to order by President Joann Bugin, followed by invocation by Virginia Kucan.

Members recited the Pledge of Allegiance and sang “God Bless America.”

Bugin introduced Dr. J.K. Luthra, and he presented information on the Festival of Nations being held from 11 a.m. to 3 p.m. Saturday at the Millsop Community Center.

Vice President Bettye Williamson introduced Paul Grant, who sang and played the guitar and keyboard. Rollback Music will provide May’s entertainment.

Secretary Barbara Purks and Treasurer Frank Fazio gave reports, which were approved as read.

Membership Chair Joyce Dobbs reported there are 138 members, and Marge DiClemente and Liz Bonavich were welcomed back to the group. There were 88 members and two guests, Cindy Tye and Nancy Tournay, in attendance.

Sunshine Chair Mary Rose Spano sent get-well messages to Jean Irvine and Ann Restano. Eleanor Pritchard, Virginia Kucan, Al Wudarski, Barb Thompson and Rena Molson celebrated April birthdays, and Patsy Verlest celebrated an April anniversary.

Regina Truax thanked the Calling Committee, which includes Viola Blanc, Ruth Sperry, JoAnn Clark, Valeria Adamczyk, Patty Beltrame, Eva Fabianich and Barb Visnic.

Regina Truax announced upcoming trips. They include:

April 22-25, Atlantic City;

May 29-30, Allegheny Casino; and

June 7, Sugar Creek.

Call Truax for information at (304) 723-0419.

Milt Fabianich collected 40 glasses and three cell phones. Barb McCoy reported a collection of $11.50 for March in the penny jar.

Parliamentarian Louise Herman presented “Being Observed,” which inspired a lengthy discussion.

Mary Tyson and Grace Lenhart were awarded dinners; Bill Moss and Frank Fazio won the 50/50; Katy Allen won the club check; and Joyce Dobbs won the quilt. Bugin thanked Norma Yingst for her help each month with the quilt.

Katy Allen, Mary Rose Spano, Richard Dobbs, Alma Wansack, Barbara Purks, Larry Purks, Bill Moss, Virginia Kucan, Liz Messerly, Barb Thompson, Marie Straight, Pauline Stillwagon, Mary Margaret Klepadlo, Ernie Nichols and Midge Green.

Virginia Kucan gave the benediction, and the meeting was adjourned.

The next meeting will be May 13.