Weir High Key Club wins award

WEIRTON – The Weir High School Key Club attended the West Virginia District Convention March 22-24 in Charleston.

The club won first place in the Single Service Award category for “Hats on for Denny.” The project raised more than $2,200 to assist a Hancock County teacher with medical expenses. It was a collaboration between Weir High Key Club, Weir Middle School Builders Club and the Oak Glen High School Key Club. It is now eligible for judging in the International Single Service Competition in Washington, D.C., in July.

The group was recognized for having a 10 percent increase in membership and the largest increase in membership in the state. The club received second place in the Distinguished Club Gold Division and was recognized for participating in the Special Activity of the Month program.

Tyler Conrad was named Outstanding Club President, and Hannah Hinerman was named Outstanding Club Vice President. Deben Shoup was named Outstanding Club Secretary, and Alex Creel was named Outstanding Club Treasurer. Club Sponsor Edward Samoraj received the Jeff Britten Award for Outstanding Club Sponsor.

Katrina Alatis was elected secretary-treasurer of the West Virginia Key Club Board; Morgan Abbott was appointed Kiwanis Family Chairperson on the board; Morgan Goff was appointed Special Activities Director; and Jordan Barney was elected Division I lieutenant governor.