Colliers News

Trappers elect vice president

The Northern Panhandle Trappers Association met recently with President Jack Cain presiding.

Ed Stewart was elected the new vice president following the resignation of Lester Ross.

The club received a thank-you from the National Rifle Association for a monetary donation. The group decided to cancel the summer outing, and the next regular meeting will be held in September.

The club also sent a donation to the Potomac Highlands Wounded Warriors Outreach Program. Dues are being collected for the upcoming year and may be remitted to Treasurer Tim Cain at P.O. Box 117, Colliers, WV 26035.

Services set

Phyllis Aria announced the annual Memorial Day services will be held at 11 a.m. May 27 at the War Memorial near Colliers Primary School.

All are invited to attend and honor the veterans.

Yard sale set

The annual Collier community yard sale will be held, beginning at 9 a.m., June 8.

Sign-ups may be made at the weekly fish fry or by contacting Phyllis Aria or Carol Cain. Food will be available at some sites and sales will be set up throughout Colliers.

Alumni meets

The Colliers Alumni and Friends Association meeting was held recently with President Darlene Brennan presiding.

The Scholarship Committee reported the group chose three scholarship recipients, and they will receive their scholarships at Brooke High School’s awards day May 23. Brennan and Dean Heinen will make the presentation.

Fundraisers were discussed and the group’s gardening project will be handled in association with Wiggi’s Garden Center.

All fourth-graders and their families are invited to join the alumni for a special membership fee of $12 for the family for a year. The application deadline is June 3.

The next meeting will be a summer gathering at 4 p.m. July 14 Principal Jo-Ellen Goodall’s home. Everyone is asked to bring a covered dish.

The next regular meeting will be held in September.

PTA elects officers

The Colliers Parent-Teacher Association elected officers for the upcoming school year at a recent meeting.

Those elected are as follows: President Tawyna Dennis, First Vice President Chrissy Carbasho, Second Vice President Stephanie Bubeck, Secretary Darcy Stanley, Treasurer Heather Vojovidich, Historian LaDonna Warrick and Parliamentarian Darlene Brennan.

Principal Jo-Ellen Goodall congratulated the Young Writers county winners, including Ethan Robey, Carter Hosler and Kavossy Lugo. She also noted the state standardized tests were approaching.

Jody Fabian gave a report on the Box Tops for Education collected. Brennan reported a flower sale was held to raise funds for Ways and Means.

Arah Barker’s first-grade class won the room count. Door prizes were awarded and refreshments served.

Colliers school a finalist

Principal Jo-Ellen Goodall announced Colliers School is a finalist for the West Virginia Schools of Excellence Award.

West Virginia State Department officials conducted an on-site review April 22. An announcement will come before the end of the school year.

Winners announced

Tug-of-war contest winners were announced, including Dalton Anderson, Alex Garrett, Chesney Keenan, Savannah Turner-Davis, Ethan Robey and Haley Martin.