Elks 1801 honor scholars at banquet

WEIRTON – The Weirton Elks Lodge 1801 acknowledged the academic and athletic achievements of 32 senior and junior students at their 2012-2013 Youth Awards Banquet May 15 at the lodge located on Main Street.

Secretary William Verelst Jr. served as master of ceremonies to recognize students from Weir High School and Middle School, Madonna High School, Brooke High School, Oak Glen High School and Middle School, and Burgettstown High School and Middle School.

In keeping with the observance of Elks National Youth Week, the honored students were presented with scholarships, awards, plaques and certificates.

West Virginia Elks Association Vice President North Roger “Hambone” Kirkpatrick, past Lodge 1801 exalted ruler, presented the four-year Legacy Scholarship Award to Brice Hickey of Brooke High School.

Hickey and Makenna Dziatkowicz of Madonna High School were recognized as the male and female recipients of the Elks National Foundation Most Valuable Students Scholarships that were presented by Vince Gurrera, past state president and past Lodge 1801 exalted ruler.

The Weirton Elks 1801 scholarships were presented to Kenneth Muhart of Weir High School and Amy Leigh Davis of Madonna High School by Past Exalted Rulers Association Vice President North Chris Pearson, past Lodge 1801 exalted ruler.

Senior Teens of the Year were John A. Dugas of Burgettstown High School and Dominique Gilbert of Weir High School. Students honored as male and female Senior Teens of the Month were:

October, Brice Hickey, Brooke High School and Dominique Gilbert, Weir High School.

November, John A. Dugas, Burgettstown High School and Alexis Virtue, Weir High School.

December, Harry Olenick and Kristen Tuell, both of Weir High School.

January, Matteo A. Collett, Weir High School and Amy Leigh Davis, Madonna High School.

February, Kurt E. Kowalski, Burgettstown High School and Kristen Mastrantoni, Weir High School.

March, Joseph K. Holmes, Madonna High School and Katherine M. Bendick, Burgettstown High High School.

April, Benjamin L. Suter, Weir High School and Abigail L. Tice, Oak Glen High School.

Junior Teens of the Year were Jayson W. Chappell and Olivia A. Gosnell, both of Oak Glen Middle School. The Junior Teens of the Month attended Oak Glen Middle School. They were:

October, Jayson W. Chappell and Molly Swartzmiller.

November, Marques Mchaffie and Olivia A. Gosnell.

December, Lance M. Collins and Allison D. Click.

January, Emma K. Hirsch.

February, Taylor A. McKay.

Hoop School Chair Ron Greer presented an athletic award and basketball to Mazi Williamson, who placed second in the 10-11-year old girls. Other Hoop Shoot winners recognized but not in attendance at the banquet were:

First Place Boys, Tyler Kelly, age 8-9; Brodie McUmar, age 10-11; Angelo Gurrera, age 12-13.

First Place Girls, Jazzyn Melnyk, age 8-9; Kaydin Nicol, age 10-11.

Second Place Boys, Ryan Bildy, age 8-9; Andrew Gresko, age 10-11; Stevie Robert, age 12-13.

Second Place Girls, Michaela Battista, age 8-9; Mazi Williamson, age 10-11.

Exalted Ruler James “Jimbo” Miller gave the welcome, led the Pledge Allegiance and closing remarks. Chaplain Stephanie Gurrera gave the invocation and benediction.