Locals awarded scholarships, renewals

WEIRTON – James Cassiadoro, Joshua Groves, Taylor Long, Kristen Mastrantoni and Francesca Stewart were awarded Joan Bieberson McDonald and Frank E. McDonald Scholarships during a senior award recognition ceremony May 23 at the Carl Hamill Field House.

The fund has awarded $242,500 in scholarships since Frank “Skeets” McDonald founded it in 2001. Scholarships can be used for any post-secondary education and applied toward any education expenses. Each recipient receives a minimum of $1,000 and are eligible to re-apply as long as they are a student.

Anthony Cato, Lucas Dankovchik, Kaylee LaPosta, Mike Mohorski, Ryan Petrovich, Nathan Selip, Lacey Wilson Vence, John Ward and Cody Wells received renewals of their scholarships.

Scholarships are based on need and those applying must have participated either in the high school band or an athletic team.