Upper Ohio Valley Camera Club attends festival

WINTERSVILLE, Ohio – The Upper Ohio Valley Camera Club has announced the winners of the June competition in prints and slides.

The print winners for the topic of the month, “Water,” were Dave Rees, first place; Debra Snider, second place; and Becky Mihopulos, third place. In the open category, the winners included Andy Tindor, first place; Stephen Mihopulos, second place; and LeAnne Sinicropi, third place. The special effects winners were Sinicropi, first place; Dave Rees, second place; and Connie Koniski, third place. The winners’ pictures can be found on Facebook at the Upper Ohio Valley Camera Club page.

The slide winners for the topic “Water” were Steve Whiting, first place; Dave Rees, second place; and Claudia Norris, third place. The open category winners included Dave Rees, first place; Whiting and Norris, second place. The special effects winners were Dave Rees, first place; Norris, second place; and Whiting, third place.

At the June workshop meeting, William Isaac, Thunder in the Ville Festival committee member, spoke to the camera club regarding final arrangements for the club having a booth at the festival and taking pictures of festival activities to be donated to the festival committee for promotion purposes.

Stephen Mihopulos presented the workshop on the topic of shooting digital photos in RAW, which makes a larger file, and editing pictures in Adobe PhotoShop Elements. Some of the PhotoShop adjustments Mihopulos demonstrated were exposure, contrast, highlights, shadows, adjusting whites and blacks, tint and density. Other topics he covered were using the magic selection tool, the spot healing brush, making duplicate layers and using layer masks.

The camera club participated for the first time in the Thunder in the Ville Festival in Wintersville June 29. The club held a Chinese auction of several matted and framed pictures donated by camera club members.

Members who donated pictures were Whiting, Snider, Andy Tindor, Dave Rees and Sam Rees. Rhoda Cable, Ernest D’Andrea, Howard Ronhauser, Lynn Wright and Pat Kinney won photos. Club member Shana Pepper provided the tent for the club’s booth.

Club members who took photos of festival activities to donate to the festival committee were Debra Snider, Barb Momyer, Anissa Wellington, Andy and Karen Tindor and Sam and Dave Rees.

For more information about the club, contact club President Steve Whiting at (740) 546-4497.