Three Score Seniors hold August meeting

WEIRTON – The Three Score Seniors opened a recent meeting with Tony LaRosa giving the invocation and President Cookie Veltri leading the Pledge of Allegiance, followed by members singing “God Bless America.”

Vice President Rosemary Gaynor introduced We Three, a singing group including retired school teachers Rosie Thomas, Roxie Seibert and Margaret Warren, who performed as the meeting’s entertainment.

Members held a moment of silence in memory of deceased member Loretta Reynolds.

Secretary Pat Delekta and Treasurer Joan Villa gave their report, which were approved as submitted.

Membership Chair Nancy Smurda introduced new members Kathy Jones, Edie Mitchell and Robert Burnett. Reservation Chair Vivian Weigel reported 106 members and three guests, including Carl Truax, Joyce Nash and Carl Cross, were in attendance.

Sunshine Chair Winnie Kemp sent get-well cards to Santo Gubetti, Bill Wetzel, Jeanette Wetzel, Lester Fridley, Mary Lou Mirasola, Josie Cline, Patty Holt and Lena Drakos. Birthdays celebrated for the month were Joe Evano, Iona McCullough and Joan Pohlman. Carl and Regina Truax’s anniversary was recognized.

Kathy McCarrick will take over as House chair.

Brenda Edwards, Sonny Marino, LeRoy Edwards, Jack Cummings and Enola Romanelli were named to the Nomination Committee.

Guy Ceraolo and Joan Pohlman won dinners from Undo’s; Winnie Kemp and Ray Fox won picnic baskets; Paul Virtue and George Pohlman won the 50/25/25 drawing; Iona McCullough, Angie Mazur, Barb Libengood and Sam Lescallette won door prizes.

Regina Truax discussed upcoming trips.

Veltri adjourned the meeting after LaRosa gave the benediction.