Fidelis Gamma makes school donation

The West Virginia Fidelis Gamma Chapter of the International Alpha Delta Kappa Honorary Teachers’ Society is celebrating ADK Month in October.

It is the organization’s 66th year, and it is the only remaining retired teachers’ sorority in West Virginia.

Fidelis Gamma is a group of retired Hancock and Brooke county teachers. The club is part of the Ohio Valley District and has received the Seven Pearls Award.

The group’s 2013-2104 officers include President Elizabeth Pugh, President-Elect Carolyn Allison, Recording Secretary Janet Benzo, Corresponding Secretary Jerry DeFilippo, Treasurer Carol Hendon and Chaplain Patty McCullough. Committees include Altruistic, Alpha Delta Kappa Month, Courtesy, Fraternity Education, Publicity, Scholarship and Telephone.

The group seeks to meet community needs through the Community Bread Basket, clothes closets, Brooke Place, Comfort House, nursing homes, hospitals and services member organizations. The club also collects greeting cards for teachers and magazines for the Weirton Medical Center and participate in the Salvation Army food drive. Fidelis Gamma awards a $500 scholarship to a high school senior planning to pursue an education degree in honor of Betty M. Shaw.

Weirton Mayor George Kondik, New Cumberland Maya Linda McNeil and Wellsburg Mayor Sue Simonetti have issued proclamations in the group’s honor.