Retirees elect officers, eye plans

WEIRTON – President Joyce Barnhart presided over a recent Weirton Medical Retirees meeting at Gio’s Restaurant.

Barnhart introduced four new members, Toni Underwood, Sandy Robbins, Christy Wilson and Diana Scott.

Linda Heilman read a poem in memory of former Treasurer Rhadine Ross.

Barnhart introduced the new officers and committee chairs, including Vice President Mary Orrechio, Treasurer Sandy Haspel, Scholarship Fund Chair Judy Tate and Telephone Committee Chair Elaine Cappazolli. Incumbents include Barnhart, Secretary Josie Glauser, Membership Chair Cathy Colbert and Sunshine Chair Donna Karas. Jean Kovalan and Dorothy Means will continue to sell tickets for the organization’s drawings.

Glauser, Haspel and Karas gave reports. Tate gave an update on the sundresses she is making from pillowcases as part of the ongoing “Sleeping Bag” project. The goal is to make 100 sundresses, which will be sent to a distribution center in Wisconsin, before being sent to Africa.

The Scholarship Committee will give a report at the fall meeting.

Members thanked Nancy Reyer for her work on the telephone committee, as she is relocating to South Carolina.

Karas was recognized for her work on the Sunshine Committee.

Means and Kovalan sold 50/50 drawing tickets, and Robbins won. Glauser read “A Story to Brighten Your Day.”

Barnhart requested additional help for the telephone committee, because, as the membership increases, the number of calls that need to be made also increases.

The next meeting will be held at noon Oct. 8 at Gio’s.