Woman’s Club celebrates 90th anniversary

WEIRTON – The Weirton Woman’s Club, a General Federation of Women’s Clubs of West Virginia member organization, organized in 1923 and joined the federation in 1924, celebrated the 90th anniversary at the Serbian American Cultural Center.

President Diane Pastoric was mistress of ceremonies.

Shirlee Baltich gave the inspiration and led the Pledge of Allegiance. Sandra Robbins led the Pledge of Allegiance to the West Virginia State Flag.

Weirton Mayor George Kondik congratulated the club on the anniversary and presented a proclamation recognizing the club’s leadership, volunteer service and fundraising to Pastoric. Councilman Charles R. Wright also attended.

Hancock County Commissioner Dan Greathouse expressed appreciation for the work the club has done in the county.

Mary H. Weir Library Director Rik Rekowski spoke about women’s clubs’ work in libraries across the country and the work and support of the Weirton club for the Mary H. Weir Library. The club founded the first Weirton library.

Northern District President Jo-Ellen Wright spoke about the federation’s leadership and the community service the clubs perform. She thanked the Weirton club members for their involvement.

Local keyboardist and vocalist Ron Retzer provided entertainment. Member Mary Ellen Groves sang “America the Beautiful,” chosen by the federation as the national hymn in 1922.

Pastoric and Alexandra Melonas honored past presidents with a silver rose ring holder. They include Helen Brancazio, 1991-1992; Jo-Ellen Wright, 1996-1998; Shirlee Baltich, 2002-2004; Sharon Neeley, 2004-2006; Sandra Robbins, 2006-2008; Delores Azzarello, 2008-2010; and Diana Durst, 2010-2012.

Pastoric presented a 50-year certificate to member Rita Griffith and 25-year certificates to Ruth Fox, Teresa McGown, Pam Makricosta and Judy Riter.

Past President Delores Azzarello presented a 50-year certificate to Ann Parsons, who resides in Florida.

Helen Moren, West Virginia State Recording Secretary and Northern District Treasurer; President Dorothy Hawkes and members of the Woman’s Club of New Cumberland; and Follansbee Twentieth Century Club members were guests.

The 2012-2014 club officers include President Pastoric, First Vice President Jeanne Amidon, Second Vice President June Pulice, Recording Secretary Teresa McGown, Financial Secretary Barbara Raynolds and Treasurer Alexandra Melonas.