AARP Chapter holds meeting

WEIRTON – President Joann Bugin called a recent AARP Chapter 3846 meeting to order, and Virginia Kucan gave the invocation, followed by members reciting the Pledge of Allegiance and singing “God Bless America.”

Vice President Bettie Williamson introduced Stone Street Station, who performed as the evening’s entertainment. The Chrisagis Brothers will entertain at the April meeting.

Bugin read thank-you notes from the Community Bread Basket and Mary H. Weir Library for donation made by group.

Secretary Barbara Purks and Treasurer Frank Fazio gave their reports, which were approved. Auditing Committee members Ernie Nicholas, Mildred Green gave their report and complimented Frank Fazio on his work.

Membership Chair Joyce Dobbs introduced her guests for the evening, Dick and Pat Balser and Ken and Wanda Woodward, whom joined the group, making membership total 124. Eighty-four members attended the meeting. Bugin recognized 39 members with perfect attendance in 2013 and eight who missed only one meeting.

Sunshine Chair Mary Rose Spano announced the birthdays of Midge Green, Joyce Rzepka, Barb McCoy, Kathryn Hardsauk, Dee Krinock, Phyliss LeMasters, Pat Balser, Bettie Williamson, Valeria Adamczyk, Joann Bugin, Ernie Nicholas, Helen Wudarski, Ruth Sperry, John Fields and Joyce McColloch. Anniversary were celebrated by Richard and Joyce Dobbs, Dan and Nancy Tournay, Larry and Barbara Purks, Chuck and Joann Bugin and Dean and Katy Allen.

Milt Fabianich has collected four cell phones, 36 pairs of glasses and one hearing aid. Barb McCoy collected $24.02 for the Greater Weirton Area Senior Center.

Tour Chair Regina Truax announced upcoming trips. They include:

March 29, doo-wop concert at the Capitol Theatre, Wheeling;

April 23, Pure Gold at Rivers Casino, Pittsburgh; and

May 9-10, Sight and Sound Theatre, Lancaster, Pa.

For information, contact Truax at (304) 723-0419.

Eva Fabianich was thanked for her St. Patrick’s Day decorations.

Norman White and Iona McColloch won dinners donated by Undo’s, and Joyce Rzepka and Norma Yingst won the 50/50 drawing. Ernie Nicholas won the quilt, and Virginia Riley won the throw donated by Frank Fazio. Al Daugherty, Carolyn Hill, Wanda Woodward, Joyce Dobbs, Mary Rose Spano, Marie Straight, Patty Beltrame and Martha Varitek won door prizes.

Bugin asked members to put their meal fee in envelopes to give greeters at the door.

Virginia Kucan delivered benediction and the meeting adjourned.