Boys State participants

Follansbee Emrys Watkins American Legion Post 45 named 13 Brooke High School juniors as representatives at the American Legion Mountaineer Boys State June 8-14 at West Virginia University’s Jackson’s Mill Extension Campus. They are, from left, front, Dante Rosso, Paraag Gupta, Calvin Burdine, Antonio Pizzuti, Cole Armstrong and Austin Lee, and, back, Lucas Pannett, Justin Elliott, Mario Lombardi, Chris Beaman, Jakob Heilman and Brody Eggert. Kody Wales also was named. Participants learn about government operations and political processes by assuming the roles of various officials in the mock creation of a 51st state. To be chosen, teens must have at least a 3.0 grade point average, be involved in extracurricular activities and undergo an interview process. The Post 45 Boys State Committee includes Chair Denny Williams, Hartzel Brady, Steve Jasko, Ed Brothers and George Dragonir. — Warren Scott