DAR announces national winners

STEUBENVILLE, Ohio – The Fort Steuben Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution announced the Junior American Citizens Contest National Winners from Harding Middle School.

Brooklyn Jones, Haelee Jenkins, Grace Dillon and Jordan Sarjeant are the seventh-grade art banner winners.

Chardonnay Sanders is the eighth-grade art poster winner.

Katlin Rayl, Lena Jolly and Veronica Kaine are the eighth-grade banner winners.

Elizabeth Anderson is the eighth-grade stamp design winner.

Alyanna Glynn is the eight grade short story winner.

The 2013-2014 theme was “Honoring Our Heritage.”

Jo Ann Morrison and Carol Skerbetz were the Fort Steuben contest co-chairs. Regent Nancy Valles, First Vice Regent Karen Blanc, Second Vice Regent Denese White, Secretary Vickie Joseph and Chair Morrison were judges.

The winners were honored at the DAR state conference in Columbus, Ohio, and at an assembly at the middle school.

They also will be recognized at the DAR Continental Congress June 25-29 in Washington, D.C.