Class of 1959

The Weir High School Class of 1959 held the 55th class reunion July 18-19 at the Serbian American Cultural Center in Weirton. Forty-five classmates from Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Maryland, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Texas and West Virginia attended. Those attending included, from left, front, Linda Riddle Heilman, Edith Harless Barber, Dorene Pratt Gaston, Donna Jean Smith Grant, Karen Williams Viakley, Karen McAbee Tate, Monnie Beatty Mack, Margaret Little Berry, Doris Cottrill Kaufmann and Ruth Ann Anderson Lamp, second row, Beth Williams Hershey, Joan Hair Riddle, Anita Cooke Spadafora, Pat Zdinak Ferry, Cynthia Miller Goad, Karen Ross Peterson, Judy Canei Elias and Marilyn Waite Skidmore, third row, Donna Lee Smith Matchett, Sue Ayers Lyons, Carolyn Langer Longacre, June Miller Spotto, Roxie Tennant Sosenko, Pat DePoy Seders, Jean Snodgrass DePoy, Mary States Barrett, Sue McDougal Barrett and Charles Rhoades, fourth row, Bob Gracey, Butch Viakley, John Ritchie, Frances McClelland Maslowski, Claudia Thompson, Will Campbell and Mary Montanaro Solomon, and, back, Jim Foglio, Joe Higginbotham, Tom Banketas, John Reed, Fred Gaston, Jim Zulkoski, Pete Caritis, Noble Miller Jr., Richard Kurpil and John Platt. John Ritchie and Fred Gaston were masters of ceremonies. Jim Foglio gave the invocation. The 63 deceased classmates were remembered. The Donohues performed, as did The Four Brothers, including Don DePoy, Terry Grant, Richard Kurpil and Butch Viakley. Those making contributions toward the reunion, but unable to attend, included Jim Buracchio, Sima Lalich Gates, Beth Lucas Simpson and Bill Wright. John Platt provided a display of the commencement program. Sue McDougal Barrett, Cindy Miller Goad, Harry Mack, Donna Lee Smith Matchett, Karen Ross Peterson and John Platt received prizes. Fred Gaston closed with “And Then It Was Winter.” The next reunion will take place Sept. 8-9, 2017. Edith Harless Barber, Margaret Little Berry, Dorene Pratt Gaston, Donna Jean Smith Grant, Linda Riddle Heilman, Doris Cottrill Kaufmann, Ruth Ann Anderson Lamp, Monnie Beatty Mack, Joan Hair Riddle, Karen McAbee Tate and Karen Williams Viakley were Reunion Committee members, and Georgette Fekaris was class sponsor.