Campus news

West Virginia University

Georgia Beatty, a Weir High School senior, has been named one of 20 recipients of the West Virginia University Neil S. Bucklew Scholarship. Those students are now eligible to receive the Foundation Scholarship, the highest academic scholarship the university awards.

The Neil S. Bucklew Scholarship is named after WVU’s 20th president and is valued at $32,000, providing its recipients with more than $8,000 per year over four years to be used toward educational costs. All Bucklew Scholars have qualified for the Honors College at WVU.

Beatty said she wants to be a journalist, write about politics and travel and eventually get a doctorate degree in English literature and teach at a university.

Franciscan University of Steubenville

The U.S. Army Reserve Officers Training Corps, Three Rivers Battalion, will commission three students from Franciscan University of Steubenville as U.S. Army officers on May 12.

Among them is Cadet Michael Shaw of Colliers, who will receive a commission as a second lieutenant into the Army Reserve Engineer Corps. His first duty station will be in Bridgeport, W.Va.

West Virginia Northern Community College

The following area students were named to the West Virginia Northern Community College president’s list for the fall semester:

Weirton campus — Casey Lyons, Brittany M. Hedmond, Colliers; Samantha Davis, Nickolas Holde, Follansbee; Rachel Garrett, Casey Highfield, Jay Taylor, New Cumberland; and Jerica Acord, Anna Baker, Ronald Bane, Donald Cardelli, David Craig, Douglas Debnar, Shelby DiBacco, Ciera Parr, Haley Wayt, Weirton.

Wheeling campus — Cory Purr, Dillonvale; Brandon Balwanz, Rayland; Kelsey Deane Hardesty, Follansbee; Steven Tyler Efaw, David Alan Ryan, Wellsburg.

The following area students were named to the fall dean’s list:

Weirton Campus — Richard Crossley, Lyndsey Fenske, Steubenville; Anita Baker, Rachael Fluharty. Toronto; Jeffrey A. Meszaros, Wintersville; Ciera Youschak, Kyle Mack, Burgettstown; Devin O’Rourke, Morgan Vollberg, Chester; Ashley Barkley, Colliers; Angelina Alexander, Keith Carroll, Tyger Eltringham, Haley Stevens, Follansbee; Justin Campbell, Skylar Fluharty, Tracy Lorenzoni, Adrianna Martinez, William Ross, Haley Spurlock, Charles Howard Thomas, New Cumberland; Christian White, New Manchester; Elizabeth Akers, Kathy Ashmore, Amanda Best, Emma Chartier, Rebecca Garan, Austin Grant, Tammera Griffith, Azurae Hatch, Rachel Hawthorne, Tessa Henderson, Julia Herchuck, Matthew Hinchee, Deborah Huska, Dena Lang, Alayna Macaluso, Samantha Mazur, Lisa Nieder, Eric Piatt, Janeen Pulver, Jamie Reed, Olivia Shumway, Dylan Spencer, Tia Tomblin, Amy Vasconcellos, Ali Williamson, Alyssa Wilson, Amber Woofter, Steven Zanieski, Weirton; and Gabrielle Ashton, Sara Lilly, Michelle Martin, Samantha Williams, Wellsburg.

Wheeling campus — Eric J. Lawson, Rayland; Danielle Wojtasek, Yorkville; Ashley McKee, Beech Bottom; Heather Cunningham, Colliers; Amy Mitchell, Follansbee; Baylee Mclaughlin, Adam Mills, Carl Adams, Weirton; and Madison Roadman, Trina Blakely, Jacqueline Carbasho, Wellsburg.