Campus News

Ashley Eby -- Contributed

West Virginia University

MORGANTOWN — A Brooke High School senior is among the 2018 Bucklew Scholars at West Virginia University.

The Bucklew Scholarship is given to 20 high-achieving West Virginia students who have been accepted to the university and qualifies them to be considered for a Foundation Scholarship, the highest academic scholarship the university awards.

For Brooke High School’s Ashley Eby, it’s “always been WVU,” where she said tradition meets innovation. Eby, who plans to study chemical engineering before entering law school, wants to write policy for the Environmental Protection Agency.

“I love the environment,” she said. “I don’t think there are enough legislators that know enough about the science.”

She is the daughter of David and Nikki Eby of Wellsburg.

The Neil S. Bucklew Scholarship is named after WVU’s 20th president and is valued at $40,000, providing its recipients with more than $10,000 per year over four years to be used toward educational costs. All Bucklew Scholars have qualified for the Honors College at WVU, and the scholarship can be used in addition to the state’s P.R.O.M.I.S.E. Scholarship.

The Foundation Scholarships, which will be announced May 15, are awarded to five Bucklew Scholars.