Alpha Mu Chapter DKG to install officers

MEETING MOMENTS — The Alpha Mu Chapter of Delta Kapa Gamma held a new member initiation ceremony at its April 21 meeting. Participating were, from left, Dani Carroll, sponsor; new members Lindsay Clifton and Nichole Locke; chapter President Barbara Pritts; membership committee representatives Linda Holub, Linda Nocera and Donna Iachini; new member Janice Pyles; sponsor Rose Seck; and Barbara Jean Losey, flagbearer. -- Contributed

STEUBENVILLE — The Alpha Mu Chapter of Delta Kappa Gamma met April 21 at Starkdale Presbyterian Church with President Barbara Pritts presiding and introducing Julie Blanton, chair of the scholarship committee.

Blanton introduced guest speakers Joan Dohnal and Tracey Dailey from the Jefferson County Department of Job and Family Services, Children Services Division.

Dohnal has been an employee there since 1994, working in child advocacy and as an ongoing caseworker for abused and neglected children. Dailey joined Children’s Services in 1992 and works as an adoption accessor to finalize adoptions as well as to license foster care homes.

The speakers distributed literature on the “Adopt US KIDS” program; offered information on how to recognize and report child abuse; and explained how to become a foster parent.

Approximately 100,000 children in Ohio are waiting to be adopted, they said, and 400,000 children are in U.S. foster care until the age of 18 at any one time. Jefferson County has 42 children currently in care this month, including 12 in county foster homes and 14 in out-of-county foster homes and five pending adoptions. Becoming a foster parent, they explained, requires 36 hours of foster-care training, fire- and home-safety checks, references and BCI/FBI background checks.

New members initiated during a candlelight ceremony received their membership certificate and roses. They included Lindsay Clifton of Steubenville, an employee of Lincoln Learning Solutions who serves as an assistant to Edison’s vocal music program, and Nichole Locke of Toronto, who teaches vocal music in Toronto City Schools. Both were sponsored by member Dani Carroll. Janice Pyles of Carrollton, a third-grade language arts teacher, was sponsored by Rose Seck.

Linda Nocera, membership chair, and Pritts served as the initiating officers, assisted by membership committee representatives Donna Iachini and Linda Holub and flagbearers Barbara Jean Losey and Judy Weaver. Joyce Palmer provided piano accompaniment.

Nocera also presented a candlelight necrology service following the initiation in memory of Sandra Devore and Ruth Ann McLaughlin. During the business meeting, Pritts gave a report on convention and Gold Key awards distributed to members. Reports also were given by Ann Wiley, Gina Judy, Linda Anderson, Rose Seck, Carole Thorne, Marlene Wolf, Darlene Mason, Dani Carroll and Darlene Smith.

Patricia Fletcher and Diane McElwain were drawing winners.

The next luncheon meeting will be held at 10 a.m. Saturday at Wintersville United Methodist Church and feature the initiation of Holly Dodds of Scio and the installation of officers for the 2018-20 term.