Jefferson County Historical Association annual meeting, banquet set for Sept. 26

Guest speaker to be author, attorney Michael Nogay

Staff photo FEATURED PRESENTER — Weirton attorney and author Michael Nogay, shown in this file photo during a 2017 presentation, will be the featured speaker at the Sept. 26 annual meeting and dinner of the Jefferson County Historical Association. Nogay is the author of “Every Home a Fort, Every Man A Warrior.”

STEUBENVILLE — The Jefferson County Historical Association will hold its annual meeting and banquet on Sept. 26 at St. Florian Hall in Wintersville, featuring guest speaker Michael Nogay of Weirton, attorney and author.

The social hour begins at 5:30 p.m. with appetizers and BYOB. The dinner, which is open to the public, begins at 6:15 p.m. It features a menu of a gourmet vegetable salad with an entree selection of either Italian chicken or sliced sirloin tip roast au jus with glazed carrots, garlic red potatoes and Italian green beans along with coffee, tea, rolls and butter. Dessert will be raspberry parfait cake.

The cost is $30 with reservations due by Sept. 18. Checks and entree choices can be sent to the JCHA at P.O. Box 4268, Steubenville OH 43952.

Nogay, a practicing attorney in the Sellitti, Nogay and McCune PLLC group, received his undergraduate degree from West Virginia University, magna cum laude, and his law degree in 1983 from Washington and Lee University in Virginia.

Nogay authored an academically praised history book on the military fortifications during the American Revolution War titled “Every Home a Fort, Every Man A Warrior.”

The book earned Nogay a West Virginia History Hero award from W.Va. Gov. Earl Ray Tomblin, and he was awarded a “Key to the Museum” in 2017 by the Weirton Area Museum and Cultural Center for his efforts to preserve local history.

A lifelong resident of the Weirton area, Nogay and his wife, Robin, have three children.

Judy Brancazio is president of the JCHA. Other officers are Eleanor Naylor, first vice president; Charlie Green, second vice president; and Dennis Milko, treasurer. Directors are Joan Anliker, Dr. Howard Brettell, Charlotte Christian, Stanley Gaston, Mike Giles, Robert Martin, Betty Masters, Soundra Palmer, Roger Pyles, Lois Rekowski, Thom Way and Linda Wells.

For information on the association, banquet or the museum at 426 Franklin Ave., call (740) 283-1133 on Wednesdays and Thursdays from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.