Follansbee primary elections set for today

FOLLANSBEE – Candidates for Follansbee mayor and police chief and two council seats will get a trial run in the city’s primary election today.

The two candidates in each of the four races will advance to the city’s general election, which will be held June 11. Wellsburg and Bethany also will hold their general elections on that date.

Bethany doesn’t normally hold a primary election, while Wellsburg City Council moved to cancel its primary this year because no more than two candidates had filed for any office.

Follansbee City Council has made plans to poll voters on whether to eliminate future primary elections during its general election.

Polls will be open from 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m.

The following candidates will appear on the ballots:

Mayor: Challenger Ben Arthurs of 814 Gilbert Ave. and incumbent David Velegol Jr. of 400 Heathermoor Drive.

Police chief: Challenger Paul Arthurs of 814 Gilbert Ave. and incumbent John Schwertfeger of 1083 Jefferson St.

1st Ward Council seat: Tom McMillan of 427 Main St. and Vito “Skip” Cutrone of 514 Rose St. Incumbent Jim Miller has chosen not to seek re-election.

2nd Ward Council seat: Helen “Honey” Hedmond of 1050 Virginia Ave. and Dave Secrist of 726 Allegheny St. Incumbent Tom DiBattista has chosen not to seek re-election.

Those holding the city’s council at large and 3rd, 4th and 5th Ward seats and the offices of city clerk and city attorney are unchallenged.

Follansbee’s polling places are as follows: 1st Ward, Follansbee Library; 2nd Ward, Follansbee City Building; 3rd and 5th Wards: Follansbee Community House, with areas designated for each ward; and 4th Ward, the Roksandich residence at 1299 Walker Road.

For information, call (304) 527-1330.

(Scott can be contacted at