Educator Jane Brower wins Toronto Karaffa Award

TORONTO – Educator Jane Brower is the 2013 recipient of the Joseph and Anna Marie Karaffa Award for Excellence in Education.

Brower is a chemistry and physics teacher at Toronto High School and has taught there for 16 years.

She was initially hired in 1976 and taught there until 1979, when she left to teach at other schools. Brower returned to Toronto in 2000.

Brower’s background includes graduating magna cum laude from Miami University of Ohio with a bachelor of science degree in education. She earned a master’s degree in education from Franciscan University of Steubenville in 2005. Brower holds a professional license to teach comprehensive science for grades seventh through 12th. In addition to her teaching responsibilities, Brower has been junior class adviser since 2004 and serves on the building leadership team and the Race to the Top transformation team, according to Maureen Taggart, district communications coordinator.

“Brower received multiple nominations for the award from current students and colleagues,” said Taggart. “She has made a life-long impression on her students and was described as being fair, involved, consistent, innovative, professional, respected and passionate.”

Brower resides in Toronto and is the mother of three children – Ben, Katie, and Andrew – all of whom graduated from Toronto City Schools, said Taggart.

Brower received a plaque and a $500 monetary award for the honor.

The Joseph and Anna Marie Karaffa Award for Excellence in Education is presented annually to a teacher or administrator active in Toronto City Schools. The award was established to recognize the efforts of an outstanding teacher or administrator for creating an environment where teaching and learning is valued. Past recipients include Jennifer Dickinson, 2012; Donna McCasland, 2011; Ellen Hughes, 2010; Mary Jo Kuhn, 2009; Lynda Glenn, 2008; Charlene Starr, 2007; Linda Blair, 2006; Linda Antonucci, 2005; Gary Fisher, 2004; Maureen Taggart, 2003; James Ray, 2002; Susan Buckham, 2001; Barbara Carter, 2000; Kirk George, 1999; and Barbara Pritts, 1998. Nominations for the award were accepted from students, teachers, administrators, parents and alumni.