Gateway alumna will speak during convocation

STEUBENVILLE – The Eastern Gateway Community College’s Alumni Association has chosen Claudia Holmes of Steubenville as the college’s Outstanding Alumnus for 2013.

Holmes will serve as the guest speaker for the college’s 22nd-annual honors convocation at 7 p.m. Tuesday on the Jefferson County Campus.

Holmes earned a certificate in early childhood education in 2001 and an associate’s degree in child care management in 2002 from Eastern Gateway.

At Franciscan University of Steubenville, she earned a bachelor’s degree in mental health and human services and then gained her master’s degree in strategic leadership from Mountain State University.

She is employed as a social educator in the Steubenville City Schools District.

Her community involvement includes serving on committees for the Jefferson County Fourth Street Health Center, Grand Theater Restoration and Fair Housing Practices Commission. She is a lifetime member of the Steubenville High School Alumni Association.

Other memberships include the Ladies of Serenity Federated Club, Women’s Scholarship Guild and Steubenville YWCA. She volunteers for GED preparation and is a mentor for the Bridges program.

Holmes received the Women’s Club Scholars Award and the Dennis Palmer Scholarship Award.

During the convocation, dozens of honor students will be recognized during the honor roll. Honor students receiving medallions include:

Cum Laude 3.5-3.749 GPA – Bryant Acken Bigler, Elizabeth D. Bradcovich, Timothy S. Bradley, Garrett Wade Bryson, Kaya Jo Cable, Desiraa A. Cramblett, Cheryl M. DeFrank, John Robert Deller, Robert Anthony Febo, Tammy Graham, Carl Kenneth Grigsby, Jessica N. Irwin, Darlene K. Lewis, Tina M. Mamula, Randy H. McGrew, Cozetta Darlebe Mihalko, Shauna Rena Palmer, Shondale Lamont Phifer, Michal Puskar, Keith Russell Ricker, Susan L. Ruberto, Desarae Amanda Schrode, Elicia R. Stephen, Dana Nichole Still, Sarah Jane Stowers, Sean Michael Sullivan, Aubraney Renea Thompson, Suzanne M. Travis, Alyssa N. Trimiar, Maria Grace Wanchic and Laura Marie Whitehead.

Magna Cum Laude 3.75-3.89 GPA – Stephanie A. Anderson, Elaine M. Berard, Kayla Marie Brown, Ginny Rose Carulli, Brandon Michael Cunningham, Vincent D. Cunningham, Melanie J. DiCarlo, Kelly Burns Gaspard, Sharon Elaine Hirsch, Elizabeth E. Kennedy, Timothy Jason Kirchner, Rose Marie Lucas, Melody Erin Lyons, Iliana Melendez, Kimberly Jo Miller, Lalena Danielle Morris, Nancy Rebecca Null, Nicole Brianna Perrino, William Rensi, Sonya Stefansky, Hanna Rose Thomas, Ashley Nicole Turner, Jenna Elyse Waugh and Gregory Scott Wickham.

Summa Cum Laude 3.9-4.0 GPA – Larry Barksdale, Sandra Jean Beegle, Natalee Danelle Bommer, Jacki Ann Brown, Thomas Troy Calhoun, Justin Daniel Cataldo, Christina L. Dewess, Stephen Douglas Gundrum, Ashley Lynn Hanket, Victoria J. Holman, Michelle Ann Hoover, Jennifer Marie Langdsorf, Cindy Jo Lawver, Daniel Eric Lemunyon, Cara Breanne Marshall, Alena Lynn McAllister, William Thomas Orr, Teresa Ann Owen, Carmella R. Reedy, Francisco Javier Rodriguez, Megan Elizabeth Roupe, Sandra L. Saffle, Justin Alan Sutphin, Martin Thorn, Robert Vaia, Anita Lea Williams and Alesia Ann Withers.

All-Ohio Academic awards for first team recognition will be presented to Natalee Bommer and Greg Wickham. Boomer also will receive recognition for the Coca Cola Scholarship.

The ASCP National Student Honor Award will be given to Heidi Leigh Brooks and Tiffany L. Thompson.

TRiO Student Support Services Academic Achievement Awards will be presented to Maureen Hillary-Ann Caban, Thomas Troy Calhoun, Darlene K. Lewis, Iliana Melendez, Carmella R. Reedy, Elizabeth Marie Salazar, Anita Lea Williams and Alice A. Woods.