Weir High Class of 2013 graduates

WEIRTON – The 140 members of Weir High School’s Class of 2013 took their next steps in life Friday, officially becoming high school graduates and moving toward their future.

Commencement exercises were held Friday evening in the Carl R. Hamill Fieldhouse at the high school. The Class of 2013 is the 97th graduating class from Weir High School.

“Today is a day to celebrate 12 years of hard work by these young men and women,” Principal Dan Enich said in welcoming the graduates, their families and other guests.

Enich warned the graduates that the protection and accolades of their youth were slipping away, and soon they would be faced with new choices and opportunities.

He encouraged them not to sit back, but to experience life.

“Be involved, be engaged and best of luck to each and every one of you,” he concluded.

Anna Makricostas, who graduated at the top of the Class of 2013, gave the honors address, recalling their experiences together while noting there are many more still ahead of them.

“We have grown up together and made unforgettable memories,” she said. “I know we have all worked hard to reach this point in our lives. While we celebrate this exciting time, we need to remember that this is just the beginning of our future.”

Quoting Thomas Edison, she encouraged her fellow graduates to never give up on their dreams.

“We have all experienced failure during our school years, but we managed to persevere,” Makricostas said. “So, if we continue to work hard to reach our future goals and never give up, we will continue to find success in ourselves.”

Superintendent Suzan Smith congratulated the class, wishing them the best of luck in the future in brief comments prior to conveying them with their diplomas.

“You’ve been here so many years and heard so many speeches, you don’t need to hear one from me,” she said.

The Weir High School Class of 2013 includes:

Highest Honors: Ryan Michael Duke, Brandon Coty Jasiel, Jenna Louise Jenkins, Anna Irene Makricostas, Kristen Marie Mastrantoni, Harry Russell Olenick, Benjamin Lucas Suter, Kristen Taylor Tuell, Alexis Louise Virtue, Kaitlyn Rose Williams and Emily Susan Zatezalo.

Other members of the Class of 2013 are: Conner James Addison, Marcedes Selene Alexander, Marcellus Dion Alexander, Audrey Evelyn Augustine, Paul Irvin Ayers, Ashley Ann Babinchok, Dustin Andrew Bailey, Eric Scott Baker, Daren Allen Baldwin, December Lynn Baldwin, Matthew David Barnes, Lance Christopher Beck, Emily Anne Bertha, Ashley Lynn Boyer, Corey David Bradley, Zachary Thomas Brooks, Maelynne Rene’ Brunner, Alexandria Paige Bruno, Meikka Noel Buffo, Monica Leigh Burdette, Shelva Danisha Burns, Kiara Lee Candelario, James Dylan Cassiadoro, Reno McClain Castelli, Matthew Alex Cessna, Taylor Ryan Chappell, Matteo Anthony Collett, Samantha Erin Collins, Tyler Jay Conrad, Justin Harold Allen Crago, Alex Raymond Creel, Alexis Renee Curtis, Brianna Nicole Dailey, Tiffany Elizabeth Davidson, Shane Steven Davis, Matthew John Decker, John Paul Dematteis, Jessica Marie Derby, Kvanna Isabel Diaz, Micah Lin DiBacco, Christopher Joseph Dobosz, Rachelle Marie Ervin, Jeromy Matthue Falk, Cody Nicholas Fuscardo, Frank Bernard Gardner, Kodi Ranae Gegas, Michael Tyler Gibson, Dominique Marie Gilbert, Evan James Greco, Kasey Edward Green, Joshua Robert Groves, Mark Anthony Guglielmo, Kandace Leigh Haga, Jerren Randall Haines, Justin Ryan Haines, Dusty Allen Haspell, Erin Nicole Hawthorne, Gracen Elizabeth Hayes, Tess Laurise Haynes, Chad William Hensley, Kain Allen Hess, Cory Scott Heupp, Savanna Kaitlyn Hibbits, Lauren Brianna Hoffman, Austin Douglas Hoover, Carl Raymond Howard, Patrick Allen Hulbert, Blake Allan Huval, Kyle Joseph Jennings, Chelsey Lynn Johnson, Danielle Rae Jones, Teyona Karen-Lee Jones, Jamie Lee Kikilidis, Seth David Klar, Zachary David Knuutila, Austin Keith Krupp, Kayla Grace Lemley-Raiford, Alexandra Lynn Lengyel, Samantha Ann Lengyel, Taylor Rae Long, Steven Vasile Maragos, Rachel Sara Marker, Allyson Lin Martin, Nathan Ryan Masters, Dakota Chance Matheny, Haley Marie McLaughlin, Zachary David Midcap, Brian Scott Miller, Manon Estele Misto, Jenna Marie Moore, Kenneth Hayden Muhart, Gregory John Mulaski, Karly Grace Mullens, Christopher Craig Oaks, James Henry Lee Owens, Brandon Michele Palmeri, Makayla Ann Parr, Nicole Rachelle Pellegrino, Natalie Marie Perrone, Abigail Claire Peters, Taylor Renee Peters, Eric Jeffrey Piatt, Paige Elizabeth Pompei, Laken Mariah Quickle, Jessica Marie Reese, Lauren Katherine Rosnick, Patrick Morgan Rouse, Joshua Stephen Russell, Bailey Bryn Ryan, Sarah Ann Schell, Courtney Nicole Schexnayder, Silvan Thomas Setcavage, Shane Mikal Spencer, Derek Allen Staley, Francesca Nicole Stewart, Neil Andrew Summers, Jeremy Tyler Swartzmiller, Catherine Elizabeth Tate, Kelly Lynn Taylor, Lydia Fay Taylor, Ashlee Nicole Vandruff, Jonathan Wayne Thomas Vantilburg, Alicia Colleen Veltri, Leslie Talon Washington, Raymond Dale Welch, Tyler Reid Wilson, Austin Michael Wolverton, Racen Nicole Young and Brandon Joseph Zapotoczny.