Wheeling natives to be inducted to WV music hall

CHARLESTON – Bluegrass musicians Melvin and the late Ray Goins are among seven unique state artists that will be inducted into the West Virginia Music Hall of Fame.

The Mercer County brothers will be part of the class of 2013 that will be inducted Nov. 16 at the state Culture Center in Charleston, according to The Charleston Daily Mail.

Separately and together, they played in the Lonesome Pine Fiddlers, the Stanley Brothers, the Shenandoah Playboys and the Goins Brothers Band.

Other inductees include:

Peter Marshall, a Wheeling native, is best known for hosting “The Hollywood Squares.” Born Pierre LaCock, the actor and singer has appeared in numerous musicals and continues to perform concerts.

Wayne Moss, a South Charleston native who was a member of the house band for “Hee Haw” for 15 years and played on Bob Dylan’s records, including “Blond on Blond.”

Tim O’Brien, of Wheeling, who is a Grammy Award-winning bluegrass, country and folk artist also known for his production skills. He has recorded solo with his group the O’Boys, with his sister, Mollie, and with Darrel Scott and his songs have been recorded by Kathy Mattea.

The late Ada “Bricktop” Smith, an Alderson native who died in 1984, was a dancer and vaudeville performer who owned the Paris nightclub Chez Bricktop. After working as a chorus girl in Chicago and Harlem, she moved to Paris in 1924.

The late Eleanor Steber of Wheeling, who died in 1990, is considered one of the most important U.S. sopranos of the 20th century. She is most famous for her creation of the title role in Samuel Barber’s “Vanessa.”

The deceased members of The Swan Silvertone, a McDowell County gospel quarter that performed in the 1950s and ’60s. The group, originally called The Four Harmony Kings, was founded in 1938 by Claude Jeter, an Alabama native who moved to McDowell County to work in the coal mines.

“The fifth class honors seven more unique West Virginia artists who have made lasting contributions to American music,” hall of fame director Michael Lipton said in a news release.

Landau Eugene Murphy Jr. will receive the 2013 Spirit Award.

Visit www.wvmusichalloffame.com for ticket information.