Weirton Hall of Fame to honor seven in Class of 2013

WEIRTON – The Weirton Hall of Fame Committee has announced those selected to be a part of the Class of 2013 for the Weirton Hall of Fame.

Seven individuals were selected to be a part of this year’s group of honorees.

The Class of 2013 will include George Canei in the category of sports; Millie Gerbo in the category of education; Emily Horvat in the category of professionals; Tony Sellitti in the category of business and industry; Mary Binkoski Porter and John B. Sorrenti in the category of public service; and Rick Witkowski in the category of music and fine arts.

The induction ceremony is set to take place at 2 p.m. Aug. 4 at the Knights of Columbus in Weirton.

Tickets will be $25 each and will go on sale July 1. They will be available for purchase at the Weirton City Building, R.E. Saxon Jeweler and the Weirton Area Chamber of Commerce. Only 250 tickets are being sold.

According to the Weirton Hall of Fame Committee bylaws, all honoree nominations can be individuals with “outstanding” accomplishments, starting with the incorporation of the City of Weirton in 1947, and had to be a resident within the city limits for at least five years.

Individuals could be nominated into one of six categories: philanthropy; public service; music and fine arts; education and religion; sports and athletics; and business, industry and professionals. All nominations also had to be submitted in writing, signed and dated by the individuals making the nominations.

Individuals selected for nomination could be nominated for more than one category but picked for only one category for the hall of fame.