Congratulations future leaders

Twenty-nine area high school sophomores took another step last week along the path to becoming potential future leaders of their community, and we would like to congratulate each of them for their accomplishments.

The Youth Leadership Weirton program, offered each year by the Weirton Area Chamber of Commerce, officially recognized the 29 graduating members of this year’s program, which began last fall and has taken them through courses encouraging teamwork, communication, respect and creativity.

Graduating students include Taylor Allison, Oak Glen; Morganne Baranski, Weir; Anthony Basil, Madonna; Nathanial Bennett, Oak Glen; Kayla Campos, Oak Glen; Michael Curtis, Weir; Marissa Davis, Oak Glen; Morgan Duerr, Madonna; Erin Fields, Oak Glen; Emily Fournier, Madonna; Natalie Fowler, Brooke; Anne Frankovitch, Madonna; Kacey Glaspell, Madonna; Paraag Gupta, Brooke; Mackensey Kohout, Brooke; Gabrielle Kotten, Madonna; Jentzen Kowcheck, Brooke; Madison Kranis, Oak Glen; Christen Mangano, Oak Glen; Alex McFarland, Weir; Abigail Mercer, Oak Glen; Bryan Phillips, Weir; Isabella Preston, Brooke; Amanda Pulice, Madonna; Kylie Sellman, Brooke; Domenic Silvestri, Madonna; Emily Stuck, Brooke; Jordan Swartzmiller, Weir; and Jessica Wayne, Brooke.

Every community needs people willing to give back, willing to take the lead and provide guidance for the future. In the same respect, the business world often requires us to put aside our differences and work together for the good of those around us.

Youth Leadership Weirton helps to develop those skills to better prepare our young residents to take the reins in their schools, the workplace and their towns.

Everything from the teamwork session at the Challenger Center to the simulated society exercise provides a valuable lesson for all involved.

We thank the Weirton chamber for continuing to make this program available, congratulate this year’s class of graduates, and encourage them to continue reaching for the stars.