Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Numerous seats up for grabs in Tuesday election

June 13, 2011
From staff reports , Weirton Daily Times

Candidates for mayor, police chief and council seats will appear on ballots in elections to be held in Follansbee, Wellsburg and Weirton Tuesday.

The polling sites will be open from 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m.

Follansbee voters will determine the city's mayor and police chief, and Weirton voters will determine the city's mayor and seven council members.

Wellsburg voters will be asked whether the city's police chief should be elected or appointed, and voters from the city's 2nd Ward will be asked to choose a representative on city council.

Vying for Follansbee mayor are: R. Glenn Kocher of 531 Penn St. and David Velegol Jr. of 400 Heathermoor Drive. Incumbent Tony Paesano chose not to seek re-election.

Candidates for the city's police chief are: challenger Arty Quattrochi of 540 Mahan Ave., and incumbent John W. Schwertfeger of 1083 Jefferson St.

Other elected officials are unchallenged.

Wellsburg voters will be asked whether the city's police chief should remain an elected position or one filled through an appointment by council.

Pending voters' approval, council has moved the police chief should "be a person of proven administrative ability with experience and training in law enforcement."

Because the job was originally seen as an administrative position, the police chief currently isn't required to have training in law enforcement.

The change also would put the police chief under the city manager's supervision, with the chief's salary and benefits to be determined by council.

Also on Wellsburg's ballots are Paul T. Billiard of 1523 Main St. and Tammy Provenzano of 200 Sycamore St., who will compete for a seat representing the city's 2nd Ward.

Provenzano was appointed to the seat in August following the resignation of Joe McAllister.

No other officeholders are opposed in Wellsburg's election.

Weirton's election will determine the winner of the following races:

Mayor: George Kondik, the city's current 5th Ward councilman; and Harold "Bubba" Miller, the city's current 2nd Ward councilman.

Current mayor Mark Harris chose not to seek re-election.

1st Ward Council: incumbent Ronnie Jones of 312 North 10th St., and challenger Bill Zanieski of 159 McKinley Road.

2nd Ward Council: Chuck Wright of 140 Grimm Way, and Eric Zaney of 101 Sherry Court.

4th Ward Council: incumbent George E. Ash Sr. of 3125 Orchard St., and challenger George Vacheresse Jr. of 4104 Labelle Ave.

5th Ward: Tracy DiBacco of 3725 Woodlawn Way and George Gaughenbaugh of 3704 Riverview Drive.

Third Ward Councilman Fred Marsh and 6th Ward Councilman Dave Dalrymple, both incumbents, are unopposed.

Terry Wiegel of 144 Valley Way, is unopposed as a candidate for council's 7th Ward seat. Incumbent Max Fijewski chose not to seek re-election.

Follansbee's polling sites are: 1st Ward, Follansbee Branch Library; 2nd Ward, Follansbee City Building; 3rd Ward, Follansbee Community House; 4th Ward, Robert Roksandich residence at 1299 Walker Road; and 5th Ward, Follansbee Community House.

Wellsburg's polling sites are: 1st Ward, Wellsburg Methodist Church on Charles Street; 2nd Ward: Wellsburg Fire Hall on 12th Street; 3rd Ward: Wellsburg Baptist Church on Charles Street; 4th Ward: Wellsburg Community of Christ Church on 26th Street.

Weirton election officials have announced the polling site for Precinct 1 in the city's 7th Ward has been changed from Liberty Elementary School to Guerrera Law Offices at 3401 Pennsylvania Ave.

Weirton's polling sites are:

1st Ward: Precinct 1, the station at 1500 County Road; Precinct 2: Hancock County Sheltered Workshop, 1100 Pennsylvania Ave.; Precinct 3: Dunbar Recreation Center, 300 Kessel St. (at Weir Avenue).

2nd Ward: Precinct 1, Hancock County Sheltered Workshop; Precinct 2, Weirton Healthcare Conference Center, 98 Serra Drive.

3rd Ward: Precinct 1: West Virginia Northern Community College, 150 Park Ave.; Precinct 2, the fire station at Gilson and Pennsylvania avenues; Precinct 3, St. Thomas Episcopal Church, 300 Three Springs Drive.

4th Ward: Precinct 1, the post office at Mildren Avenue (enter at rear); Precinct 2, Freedom Place II apartments at 3720 Main St.; Precinct 3, First Baptist Church at 307 Homewood Ave.

5th Ward: Precinct 1, Weirton Lions Club, 3534 Williams Drive; Precinct 2, Marland Heights Community Church; Precinct 3, L.B. Millsop Primary School, Legion and Swearingen roads.

6th Ward: Precinct 1, Weir Middle School, 125 Sinclair Ave.; Precinct 2, Weirton Heights Free Methodist Church, 300 School St.

7th Ward: Precinct 1, Guerrera Law Offices, 3401 Pennsylvania Ave.; Precinct 2, Broadview Elementary School, 189 Circle Drive; and Precinct 3, Christ United Methodist Church, 3598 Pennsylvania Ave.

No candidates in Bethany's election have been challenged. The election will be conducted at the Bethany Town Hall, but residents also had an opportunity to mail in ballots early through a pilot program initiated in six municipalities by the Secretary of State's Office.

Those with questions about the election may call (304) 737-2104 in Wellsburg, (304) 797-8500 in Weirton, (304) 527-1330 in Follansbee or (304) 829-4539 in Bethany.

I am looking for: