Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Brooke Fair winners announced

September 21, 2012
Weirton Daily Times

WELLSBURG - The winners of many contests held during the Brooke County Fair have been announced.

The winner of the baked goods contest was Kimberly Soto, 19, of Wellsburg. Fairgoers judged Soto's blueberry muffins the best among entrees submitted to the Brooke County West Virginia University Extension Service, which held the contest.

The extension service also held the cutest baby contest. Winning in the age 12 months and under division was 4-month-old Kameron Moody of Wellsburg, while the 12- to 24-month-old division was won by Isabella Boniey of Colliers.

Winners of the chili cookoff were Virginia Swiger, first place; Renee Dock, second place; and Emmi Pelchuck, a middle school student, third place.

The winners were chosen from 10 entries through $1 votes cast by fairgoers and received trophies and cash prizes of $75, $25 and $15, respectively. In addition, the top winner's name is engraved on the Stanley Cup of Chili trophy displayed at the fair.

In its ninth year, the event is coordinated by Jeff and Stacey Wise.

Winners of the horseshoe tournament in the singles division were: Perry Jones, first place; Joe Erlewine, second place; and Dakota Jones, third place. The winners received cash prizes of $25, $15 and $10, respectively.

Winners in the team division were: Erlewine and Norm Schwertfeger, who received first place and $30; and Perry Jones and Dakota Jones, who placed second and $20.

Winners of the cornhole tournament were Walter Huff and Dick Chilcote, first place; and Norm and Cody Schwertfeger, second place.

Winners of the Minute to Win It contest were Jeremiah Campbell, who placed first; and Ciara Nelson, who placed second.

Winning the All for Fun Pet Show were Rachel Clampitt and her dog, Ricky, for the age 6-11 division; and William Weisgerber and his dog, Ren, for the age 16 and older division.

Winners of the silly photo contest in the children's division were Janae Castro, who was named overall grand winner; and Michael Mezan, who received Best of Show.

Winners of the photo contest's adult division were Amy Cross, the overall grand winner; and Lety Yater, best in show.

Winners of the various eating contests were: C.J. Hartman and Breanne Gray, first and second for the pie contest; Baylee Fram and Sheldon Taibi, first and second for the watermelon contest; Michael Spencer and Devin Burns, first and second for the pizza contest; Bud Homol and Joshua Zolman, first and second for the hot dog contest; and Gage Barnhart and Autumn Holmes, first and second for the ice cream contest.

Winners of the Guitar Hero contest's middle school division were Zachary Bennett, who placed first; and Dylan White, who placed second. Winners of its high school division were Austin Oldaker, who placed first; and Devin Burns, who placed second.

Winners of the miniature golf tournament were John Pronchik and Travis Shuman, who placed first and second, respectively, in the age 13 and under division; and Devin Burns and Dylan White, who placed first and second in the 14 and older division.

Winning the middle school mud volleyball tournament was a team called The Rebels and comprised of Abby Lewis, Kiara Stevens, Zack Barnhart, Austin Jenkins, McKenzie Fox and Kaitlin Henderson.

Winning the high school mud volleyball tournament were the Mud Puppies, which was comprised of Juliet Casinelli, Teirria Duffy and Eric Johnson.

Winners of the tug of war between primary schools was a team from Franklin Primary School comprised of Makayla Abram, Abbey Horvath, Dillan Largent, Dakota Isinghood, Madison Buxton, Jessica Haught, Daniel Hamilton and alternate Morgan Roadman.

Winners of the Brooke County Fair Idol singing contest were McKenzie Cross and Natalie Ryan, who placed first and second, respectively, for age 12 and under; and Toni Voltz and Belinda Cunningham, who placed first and second, respectively, for age 13 and older.

I am looking for: