Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Chapter 3846 holds October meeting

October 18, 2012
Weirton Daily Times

WEIRTON - The Oct. 8 AARP Chapter 3846 meeting at the Holiday Inn - Weirton was called to order by President Joann Bugin, followed by Carol Irvine giving the invocation and members reciting the Pledge of Allegiance and singing "God Bless America."

Entertainment Chair Bettye Williamson introduced the Casey Sisters School of Dance students, who performed, and announced Rick Pastri will provide November's entertainment.

New members Jack Cummings, Cindy Gilbert and Paul and Mary Yates and guests Honey Moore and Bernard Hudack were introduced. Membership Chair Joyce Dobbs collected 2013 dues.

Secretary Barbara Purks read the September meeting minutes, which were approved as read, and Frank Fazio gave the treasurer's report.

Sunshine Chair Mary Rose Spano sent sympathy cards to Dan and Nancy Tournay, Mary Tyson, Emily Waggle and Richard Reinard. Richard Dobbs, Paul Stillwagon, Norma Boni, Delores Proakis and Peggy Sweeney celebrated birthdays.

Milt Fabianich reported he collected 36 pairs of glasses, 11 cellphones and one hearing aid, and Barb McCoy collected $6.61 in September through the penny drive.

Upcoming trips include:

Oct. 21, Rivers Casino;

Nov. 1, Rivers Casino; and

Dec. 7, doo-wop dinner, Pittsburgh.

For information, contact Regina Truax at (304) 723-0419.

Parliamentarian Louise Herman asked seniors to be aware of House Bill 46, which she said was a tax on direct deposits or other bank transactions. Joann Bugin reported she had contacted the National AARP office and learned, to belong to a local AARP chapter, members must first be a member of the national organization.

With no nominations on the floor, the 2013 officers will remain the same, and Milt Fabianich will conduct the installation in November. Chuck Bugin was elected to serve a three-year term on the board. The Nominating Committee includes Chair Nancy Smurda, Carol Irvine, Enola Romanelli, Marion Bown and Katy Allen.

Bettye Williamson, John Micklos, Patty Beltrame, Nancy Smurda, Luelle Robinson, Iona McColloch, Bea Bishop, Mary Yates, Ann Perhacs, Norma Boni, Cindy Gilbert, George Kucan, Diana Crago and Al Daughtery received prizes.

Milt and Eva Fabianich were thanked for their fall-themed decorations.

Carol Irvine gave the benediction and the meeting was adjourned.

I am looking for: