Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | All Access E-Edition | Home RSS

Champs recognized

March 6, 2013
Weirton Daily Times
Follansbee Mayor David Velegol Jr. and other city officials recognized the Follansbee Middle School eighth-grade basketball team for winning the Buckeye-Mountaineer Athletic Conference and the Big School-Small School Championship following an undefeated 19-0 season. On hand were, in front from left, Coach Ryan Garbin, team members Marcus Purtlebaugh, Koty Hudson, Issac Goodwin, Chris Yachini and Stone Roach; middle, 2nd Ward Councilman Tom DiBattista, team member Zack McKinney, 4th Ward Councilwoman Iris Ferrell, team members Matt Petrosky, Nate Smith, Joey Ewusiak, Justin Wagoner, 5th Ward Councilman Tom Ludewig and Councilman at large Domenic Micucci; and back, City Clerk David Kurcina, Brooke High School basketball player Colton Fritz, Velegol, Brooke basketball player Jesse Gambellin and City Manager John DeStefano. Fritz and Gambellin assisted Velegol in distributing to the players blue medallions bearing the words, City of Champions. Trey Mayle also is a member of the winning team. -- Warren Scott

I am looking for: