Madonna, Brooke, Central and Buckeye wrestlers compete in Barnesville

TAKEDOWN — Madonna’s Donavan Kirby attempts a takedown against Wheeling Park’s Austin Loew in the 195 pound final during Saturday’s Doan Ford Invite in Barnesville. Loew won by pin. (Photo by Kim North)

BARNESVILLE — For only the second time on the mats this season, Wheeling Park head coach Clay Tucker was pleased with his squad’s second-place finish at the 48th annual Barnesville Doan Ford Invitational wrestling tournament Saturday night.

The Patriots, with three individual champions, scored 193 points, which was well behind Claymont’s 229.5. The point total was also 10.5 more than third-place Indian Valley. Parkersburg South, which was missing a few components, finished fourth with 161 while East Liverpool rounded out the top 5 with 137. The host Shamrocks were next at 112.5.

“I think our expectations were high coming in here. We leave with three champions,” he said of the senior trio of West Liberty signee John Nash (160), Kaleb Simpkins (170) and Austin Loew (195). “They are our front-runners. They are our leaders and we rely on them a lot. The (younger) kids really look up to them.

“It’s a good first tournament for us,” he continued. “We asked every kid to go out and wrestle 100 percent. That’s what they did and I am proud of our performance this weekend.”

Nash, a two-time Ohio Valley Athletic Conference Ron Mauck Tournament champion, doubled up Barnesville’s Brylan Clouse, 8-4, in their finals matchup of No. 1 and No. 2 seeds.

Simpkins followed that up with a methodical 17-2 technical fall of John Glenn’s Eric Stillion, while Loew pinned Madonna’s Donavan Kirby in 5:48.

Wheeling Park also had a pair of runnersup in Billy Gooch (132) and Dylan Wood (220). Maison Richardson (120) took fourth. Stevie Mitchell (138) was fifth and Jeremiah Timberlake (145) sixth.

The only other local titlist was Martins Ferry’s Hunter Bodkin (285). The senior posted a 15-6 major decision over Union Local’s Kade Clark to become the third straight Purple Riders’ heavyweight to win at Barnesville, following in the footsteps of his older brother Jonathan and Dom Wallace.

The Mustangs had four champions in Maxx Peters (138), Dakota Bunting (145), Briar Cadle (152) and Ashton Eyler (182).

Peters was also voted the tournament’s Most Outstanding Wrestlers, while Eyler took home the Hercules Award for most pins in the championship bracket in the shortest amount of time.

Other winners were Coshocton’s Lucian Brink (106); Caldwell’s Marshal Niswonger (113); Parkersburg South’s Tucker Windland (120); the Indian Valley duo of Brady O’Connor (126) and Dalton Burcher (132); and Meadowbrook’s Jud Ramage (220).

In addition to Kirby, Madonna’s Alec Cook (138) also finished second.

48th annual Barnesville Doan Ford Invitational

(at Barnesville H.S.)

TEAM SCORING: 1. Claymont 222; 2. Wheeling Park 181.5; 3. Indian Valley 178.5; 4. Parkersburg South 159; 5. East Liverpool 134; 6. Barnesville 112.5 ; 7. (tie) Coshocton, Madonna 88.5; 9. (tie) Union Local, Westfall 83.5; 11. Brooke 69; 12. Caldwell 66; 13. Bellaire 64; 14. (tie) John Glenn, West Muskingum 61; 16. Martins Ferry 60.5; 17. Meadowbrook 52; 18. Hurricane 39.5; 19. Buckeye Local 39; 20. Sandy Valley 36; 21. Shenandoah 29; 22. Steubenville Catholic 25; 23. Parkersburg South x 16; 24. Shadyside 11; 25. Beallsville 7; 26. Monroe Central 1; 27. Ridgewood, River, Buckeye Local, Meadowbrook x 0

Championship Finals

106– Lucian Brink (Cosh) d. Howard Williams (EL), 8-4 SV

113– Marshal Niswonger (Cald) d. Brayden Johnson (PS), 6-3

120– Tucker Windland (PS) d. Austin Guthrie (Coshocton), 9-2

126– Brady O’Connor (IV) d. Jonathon Potts (EL), 1-0

132– Dalton Burcher (IV) tf. Billy Gooch (WP), 16-0

138– Maxx Peters (Clay) p. Alec Cook (Mad), 4:56

145– Dakota Bunting (Clay) d. Therron Stocker (IV), 3-2

152– Briar Cadle (Clay) d. Jonas Proffitt (WF), 8-6

160– John Nash (WP) d. Brylan Clouse (Barn), 8-4

170–Kaleb Simpkins (WP) tf. Eric Stillion (JG), 17-2

182–Ashton Eyler (Clay) tf. Drew Dunbar (PS), 18-3

195–Austin Loew (WP) p. Donavan Kirby (Mad), 4:56

220–Jud Ramage (Mead) d. Dylan Wood (WP), 11-6

285–Hunter Bodkin (MF) md. Kade Clark (UL), 15-6

Consolation Finals

106– Devin Easton (PS) p. Samantha Miller (PSx), 0:44; 113–Tucker Zurcher (Clay) md.. Brayden Rittenhouse (WM), 14-5; 120–Maison Richardson (WP) d. Brayden Reynolds (Barn), 4-2 SV; 126–Levi Pemberton (Cald) d. Terry Gatrell (Mead) by default; 132–Andrew Knaup (WM) dec. Clayton Moore (Bell), 4-2; 138–Adam Lenhoff (IV) md. Brady Crum (UL), 12-2; 145–Jarritt Flinn (PS) p. Gage Walker (EL), 0:25; 152– Brady Emerson (JG) d. Christopher Helms (Brk), 6-4; 160–Jake Armstrong (IV) p. James Schmeising (SC), 2:29; 170–Matthew Love (IV) p. Noah Edwards (Clay), 1:35; 182–Garrett Cook (Mad) d. Anthony Mercum (EL), 3-0; 195–Dalton Fullerton (PS) d. Colton Neptune (JG), 4-2 UTB; 220–Kole Auniel (Clay) d. Zack Meade (Barn), 3-1; 285–Skylor Wooley (EL) md. Alex White (WF), 9-0

Fifth-Sixth Place

106– Danny Yost (Brk) d. Caeddon Yager (Barn), 3-2; 113–Ashton Sell (IV) p. Marcus Whaley (WF), 0:45; 120–Jarrett Warrington (Clay) p. Brian Palmer Jr. (BL), 0:45; 126–Cooper Hemming (SV) md. Ryley Crall (UL), 13-4; 132–Bryce Farrabee (Barn) d. Blake Barrick (Cosh), 9-7; 138– Stevie Mitchell (WP) d. Dylan Glotfelty (Barn), 9-2; 145–Daniel Long (Hurr) d. Jeremiah Timberlake (WP), 3-1 SV; 152– Braden Robinson (UL) d. Andrew Mcfee (WM), 4-1; 160–Gage Barnhart (Brk) d. Connor Harlan (Clay), 6-4 SV; 170–Jacob Todd (Mad) p. Mathew Ketchum (EL), 1:53; 182–Drake Dobson (MF) d. Justin Jackson (Barn), 8-2; 195–Mason Wiley (Cald) d. Zac cesario (BL), 8-5; 220–Dalton Rice (Shen) d. Cash Presnell (BLx) by default; 285–Josh Robinson (SS) d. Lyle Clark (Clay), 12-7