Berryman, Tucker receive top nods

COLUMBUS – Indian Creek’s 6-foot-5 sophomore Bre Berryman has been named The Associated Press’ Eastern District Division II Girls Co-Basketball Player of the Year, along with West Holmes junior Laina Snyder.

Steubenville Catholic Central coach Sean Tucker was honored as the Division IV boys Coach of the Year.

Berryman averaged 22 points, 21 rebounds, 9.8 blocks per game and missed four games with an ankle injury. She shot 58 percent from the floor and 70 percent from the free throw line.

She also had 22 assists and 16 steals.

“Bre has had a great support group around her this year and that has allowed her to be more relaxed and not try to do it all,” said Indian Creek coach Erin DeSantis. “We have had a great deal of success this season and we are excited about the direction that our program is headed. If she had not been injured and out several games this year as well as last year, she would have had 1,000 points.

“Bre works hard and is a true team player. She motivates the team and is well respected because of her work ethic. She never makes excuses, she is extremely coachable and is a joy to coach.”

As a freshman, Berryman finished with a triple-double at 24.7 points, 17.1 rebounds and 11.7 blocks per game. She missed two games due to illness. She also averaged 1.4 steals and 1.2 assists per game, while shooting 61 percent from the floor.

“I think we surprised a lot of people this year and feel that we can be competitive in years to come,” said DeSantis. “We have a balanced team and we keep getting better as the season progressed. Hopefully we can build off of this season and make the Indian Creek community proud of our program. The players and coaching staff appreciate the positive backing that we have received this year.”

Snyder, the best player on the No. 3 team in the state, averaged 15.7 points, 12.5 rebounds and 2.1 assists per game, shooting 49 percent from the floor and 81 percent from the free throw line.

Berryman and Snyder are joined on the first team by Steubenville Big Red junior Emiley Masloski.

Masloski averaged 17.6 points, 3.7 assists, 3.3 rebounds and shot 83 percent from the free throw line.

She was averaging 23.7 points, 4.7 assists and 4.3 rebounds before an injury to her knee. Big Red lost all five games she missed due to that injury.

Masloski earned a spot on the second team a year ago, when she averaged 17.3 points, 2.6 assists, 2.1 rebounds and 1.7 steals per game.

“Emiley is one of the toughest players mentally and physically I have been around,” said Big Red coach Phil Casinelli. “What she did the second half of the season, with the knee injury, speaks for itself. She dealt with major pain every possession, but played through it without a complaint.

“Her passion and love for the game is unlike anything I have seen since I have been coaching.”

Also earning first-team status are River View’s Andi Dougherty (19.0 points, 9.5 rebounds), Morgan’s Darian Apperson (17.5, 10.4) and Carrollton’s Taylor Lowdermilk (11.7, 4.6).

Earning third-team status is Indian Creek junior point guard Brooke Mains.

She averaged 11.7 points, 6.0 rebounds, 3.4 steals and 3.1 assists for the Redskins.

Special mention selections are Steubenville senior Mytia Barker (11.3, 8.4, 2.4 steals) and Indian Creek junior Kiarra Kamarec (11.1, 7.3).

Honorable mention choices are the Redskins freshman Bethany Davis, Big Red sophomore Taylor Young and junior Abby Taylor, Buckeye Local senior Kayla Fillipovich and Edison senior Molly McCoy and junior Katelyn Pollock.

Harrison Central 5-10 sophomore Katie Ellzy is a second-team Division III selection. She averaged 17.5 points and 10.3 rebounds a game and finished with 11 double-doubles.

Junior teammates Kara Dunfee and Jess Ledger were special mention selections.

Steubenville Catholic Central senior Rachel Rigaud was also a special mention choice.

Senior teammates Rachel Irvin and Micca Mirabella were honorable mention picks.

Toronto junior Lindsay Bodnar was a third-team Division IV selection. She averaged 11.8 points, 4.1 rebounds and 3.2 assists for a team that won 14 games.

Sophomore teammate Lexie Berger was a special mention choice, while senior Mariah Turner and sophomore Makayla Bauman were honorable mention choices.

Tucker was surprised and honored when told of his award.

“It’s not about me,” he said. “None of this is possible without our players and assistant coach Joe Ribar and the rest of our staff, along with an incredibly supportive wife.

“It’s an honor and humbling to be recognized for something that I love doing every day and the lives that we are able to an affect on a daily basis.

“This award is something to be proud of and it tells me how far our program has come.”

Steubenville Big Red senior point guard Periogn West was a first-team Division II pick. He averaged 14.4 points, 3.7 assists, 3.1 rebounds, 2.7 steals per game and shot 91 percent from the line.

“He’s been the point guard for three years for us now and, being the point guard, he is the leader of our team,” said Big Red coach Mike Haney. “He does a great job with the ball in his hands and distributes the ball really well.

“I think our whole senior group is a great group of kids. They all lead together.

“He worked from the day after we lost to Minerva last year all the way up to this year. He was in the gym five, six days a week. He just gets after it. He plays with great intensity.”

St. Clairsville senior Dan Monteroso was named the Division II Player of the Year and Cambridge’s Mike Andrews the Coach of the Year.

Earning second-team honors were Indian Creek senior Alex Young (14.5, 6.3) and Harrison Central senior Fletcher Watt (14.3). Buckeye Local junior Kyle Michalo (16.1) was a third-team choice.

Special mention selections were Harrison Central senior Nick Pelegreen and Indian Creek senior Frank Kamarec.

Honorable mention choices were Steubenville senior Tajuan Lawson and John Linn, Indian Creek seniors Shane Winland and Matt Furda, Harrison Central senior Rashaen Mitchell, Buckeye Local junior Brennan Czuchran and Edison senior Alec Jones and junior Dylan Jones.

Catholic Central senior Zach Herrington was a Division IV first-team choice. He averaged 14.2 points, 8.2 rebounds and shot 83 percent from the free throw line.

“Zach is a very deserving kid to receive this honor,” said Tucker. “He emerged as a senior leader for us. He has taught us a lot about the direction to take with our current group. He knows when you’re having a bad day and he lifts you up.

“He will be successful in all he does because he has a great support system at home.”

Herrington was a third-team selection a year ago with his 11.7 points and 9.3 rebounds per game.

Junior teammate Ryan Fletcher (15.0, 9.5, 73 percent, 42 percent from three) was a second-team selection.

Toronto senior Brad Melville (15.1, 7.5, 3.1 assists) received a third-team nod.

Catholic Central junior Michael Barber and Red Knights senior Tyler Owens were special mention choices, while Crusaders Matt Martello and Toronto senior Dylan Gault and freshman Blaze Glenn were honorable mention picks.