Doubles start OVAC tennis tournament

WEST LIBERTY – Through the first two days of the Ohio Valley Athletic Conference Tennis Championships, one school won two-of-three doubles championships each day at West Liberty University.

Monday it was the University girls, Tuesday it was the Cambridge boys.

No. 1 seeded Cody and Connor Engstrom earned an 8-6 victory over University’s Abe Valenzuela and Sven Wermuth and the unseeded duo of Aaron Ruby and Kamden Payton toppled Parkersburg South’s Grant Tebay and Juan Cardenas, 8-6.

At No. 3 doubles, Brooke’s Austin Barnhart and Chris Beaman dropped an 8-4 decision to Morgantown’s Andrew McQuain and Iain McKay.

Cambridge leads the boys team title with 10 points. Morgantown and Parkersburg South have six, Brooke and University five, Wheeling Central and Wheeling Park three, Weirton madonna two and East Liverpool, Indian Creek, John Marshall, Linsly and Weir High one each.

The girls singles are today and boys singles Thursday.

The University girls tennis team won two of the three doubles championships Monday.

Morgantown’s Stephanie Arnold and Abby Rosiello prevented the sweep with an 8-5 victory over the Hawks’ Ally Rees and Alyssa Reese at No. 1 doubles.

At No. 2, University’s Cassie Seamon and Meghan Zerkel defeated Olivia Osborn and Megan Galici of Parkersburg South 8-5.

At No. 3, University’s Shae Chico and MacKenzie Buck stopped Parkersburg South’s Ally Monroe and Kaitlyn Fleak 8-2.

Oak Glen’s Haley Spurlock and Madison Juszczak, the No. 4 seed at No. 1 doubles, defeated Parkersburg South’s Regan Hanlon and Jessie Mongilio, 8-3, then fell to John Marshall’s Alaina Pauley and Brittany Anderson, 8-4.

Weirton Madonna’s Ale Welch and Tina Conforti earned an 8-5 win in the first reound, before an 8-0 loss in the quarterfinals.

At No. 2 doubles, Oak Glen’s No. 2 seeded Anna Crawford and Abbi Sayre defeated Weirton Madonna’s Morgan Duerr and Elizabeth Conforti, 8-6, in the quartterfinals, but then dropped an 8-6 decision to Osborn and Galici.

Duerr and Conforti won their first-round match, 8-0, over Weir’s Christine Robinson and Hannah Hinerman.

At No. 3 doubles, Oak Glen’s Lauren Pizzurro and Madison Hill, the No. 4 seed, beat Linsly’s Rosalie Hazlett and Detatola Johnson, 8-2, in the quarterfinals.

Chico and Buck then elimnated the Bears pair, 8-1, in the semifinals.

Haizlett and Paige downed Weirton Madonna’s Emily Fournier and Bailey Roberts 8-0.

Brooke’s Sydney Stewart and Kylie Greathouse earned an 8-3 win in Round 1, but then lost to Chico and Buck, 8-3.

University leads the team race with 11 points. It is followed by Morgantown (8), Parkersburg South (6), Oak Glen (5), Linsly (4) and Wheeling Park (3). Madonna, John Marshall and St. Clairsville have two points and Brooke and Wheeling Central one point.