Errors fatal to East Liverpool

ST. CLAIRSVILLE – The Meadowbrook volleyball team pulled away in the second half of all three games en route to defeating East Liverpool, 25-17, 25-17, 25-16, in an Ohio Division II Eastern District sectional semifinal Wednesday night on John Jenkins Court inside St. Clairsville High School.

“We played really well Monday, and we had a letdown,” East Liverpool (13-11) head coach Bob Shansky said. “Meadowbrook is a very good team. Every time it got to 11-11 or 12-11, they would run off five, six or seven points in a row.

“We had one of our starters out. We had to play one of our freshmen. She blocked well. She played well. We have to learn to adjust.

“At this point, you have to play your best or you go home.”

With the win, Meadowbrook will play Minerva in the sectional co-final at 7:30 p.m. Saturday. Minerva advanced to the co-final by defeating Indian Creek 23-25, 25-23, 25-22, 27-25, in Wednesday’s first semifinal match.

“At last count, I had us with 15 unforced errors,” Shansky said. “In a sectional semifinal, you can’t have 15 or 16 errors. That was a big problem. We also could not get the ball to where we wanted it. I’m not saying we didn’t set the ball well. We just couldn’t get it to where we needed it to go.”

Individually for the Potters, Madison White tallied three kills, 48 sets and 10 assists, Caitlyn Davis delivered three kills and five points and Kiara Cowart contributed seven kills.

Taylor Ward recorded two kills and six points, and Sierra Voorhees scored six points to go along with 10 assists.

“This season was a surprise,” Shansky said. “We were up for five or six years. This is a new group. They are a new team. They were not a part of that. Kiara Cowart had Kelly Kiger in front of her. She came into her own this season. She had a great season. Taylor Ward played well.

“We were young at some positions. We have some good kids coming up. We will be fine. We have some good underclassmen. We have some good younger players.”

Edison will play Carrollton in the first co-final at 6 p.m. on Saturday night.