Adena Lions Club installs officers

ADENA — Jean Shields was installed as president for 2019-20 during a recent meeting of the Adena Lions Club held at Harrison Community Hospital.

Installing officer was Zone Chairman Neil Cleaver, guest of honor at the event that included scholarship award winners and their families and Lions club members and their guests. Cleaver also presented the club with a patch for the Lions banner in recognition of past service.

Bill Ralston, immediate past president, was presented an inscribed clock by Shields.

Other officers are Beverly Lengyel, secretary; Karl Bowers, membership chair; Vickie Whinnery, third vice president; Rob Whinnery, first vice president; John Parkinson, sight-saving chair; Angelica Kidd, tail twister; Dean Rutan, lion tamer; Laura Konkoleski, second vice president; and R.J. Konkoleski, treasurer.

One- and two-year directors include John Lengyel, Pat Green-Wallace, Dennis Kinsey, Dustin Kinsey, Lloyd Hutchison and Jay Hopkins.

The club meets at 7 p.m. on the first Wednesday of the month at the Lions Club Room, 115 W. Main St., Adena. On the second Wednesday of the month, the club meets at various restaurants, beginning at 6:30 p.m.

The meeting included the presentation of special awards with Ralston acknowleding Dustin Kinsey and Phil Wallace for thei contribution to the club during 2018-19.

Welcomed as a new member at a recent board meeting was Scott Kaminski, according to the club’s June’s newsletter.

The club awarded scholarships to three local students.

They included Madison E. Young, who graduated from Harrison Central High School and will be attending West Liberty University, and Audrey Sebring and Camryn Case, graduates of Buckeye Local High School. Sebring plans to attend West Virginia University, and Case will pursue studies at Youngstown State University.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)