Women’s golf news

CHAMPIONS — The Cadiz Women’s Golf League overall league champions for the 2019 season are, from left, A flight, Janis Cook; B flight, Brenda Hartley; and C flight, Glenda Sensel. -- Contributed


The Cadiz Women’s Golf League ended its 2019 season on Sept. 25 with an awards dinner.

Play of the Day “Three-Person Scramble” winners were announced by hostess Janis Cook as follows: First-place team, Lori DeFallo, Ginny Ferrell and Joanne Hardman; second-place team, Janis Cook, Ann Milleson and Denice Augustine; and third-place team, Marilyn Kenny, Pat Beamer and Carol Lepic.

Skill winners were: Paula Hope for closest to the pin on hole No. 11; Joanne Hardman for long drive on hole No. 14 and for second shot closest to the pin on hole No. 3; and Denise Augustine, closest to the zigzag line on hole No. 7. The monthly 50/50 winner was Ann Milleson, who declined the proceeds.

Winners for the various yearly awards were announced by respective chairmen. Glenda Sensel announced champions in A flight, Janis Cook and runner-up Tracy Amos; B flight, Brenda Hartley and runner-up Bonnie Beetham; and C flight, Glenda Sensel and runner-up Judy Crawshaw. The “Most Improved Player” was Janis Cook.

Kathy Smith announced ringer board awards as: A flight, Marilyn Kenny; B flight, Brenda Hartley; and C flight, Glenda Sensel. Most eagles were made by Marilyn Kenny in A flight and Kathy Smith in B flight. Most birdies were made by Kathy Newburn in A flight, Brenda Hartley in B flight and Peg Buchanan in C flight. Most chip-ins were made by Kathy Newburn in A flight, Bonnie Beetham in B flight and Peg Buchanan in C flight.

Table decorations were won by Ellen Barner, Denise Augustine, Peg Buchanan, Nep Rowland and Carole Patton.

At the business meeting, Chair Brenda Hartley thanked all those for attending and congratulated all winners. She called for committee reports; the election of 2020 officers; and for any suggestions on improving league play.


Town and Country Golf participants played their last scramble for the year on Sept. 26.

The winning team included Lucy Karaan, Patty Saccoccia, Toni Jean Dondzila and Sondra Hyde. The second-place team was Signa Findlay, Kathy Antinone, Betty Jose and Shirley Guida.

Other winners were:

Closest to the pin hole No. 1, second shot, Dondzila.

Longest putt made hole No. 4, Jeanne Dowden.

Long drive hole No. 3: A flight, Laura Froehlich; B flight, Pat Zorne; and C flight, Dora Elizaga.

Long drive hole No. 6: A flight, Antinone; and C flight, Sondra Hyde.

Members acknowledged the death of longtime member Dorothy Wells, 97, who was “a fine lady and a faithful member. We will miss her.”


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)