Youth Leadership Weirton program celebrates Class of 2020

GRADUATES — Members of the Youth Leadership Weirton Class of 2020 completed their program Sunday with a graduation luncheon at Undo’s. The program is organized by the Weirton Area Chamber of Commerce, with support from a grant from ArcelorMittal USA. (Photo by Craig Howell)

WEIRTON — After a three-month delay, the members of the Youth Leadership Weirton Class of 2020 took their final steps of the program Sunday, celebrating their accomplishments with a graduation luncheon.

Class participants were joined by their families at Undo’s, welcomed by Weirton Area Chamber of Commerce President Brenda Mull.

“It’s taken a while to pull this together,” Mull said, noting the graduation originally had been set for March, but was delayed as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic. Arrangements for social distancing were made as part of Sunday’s luncheon. “We wanted you all to be comfortable here today.”

The chamber has organized the program for more than 20 years, welcoming approximately 30 sophomores from Weir, Oak Glen, Madonna and Brooke high schools for a series of seminars focusing on the development of skills for use in the business world and their daily lives. Youth Leadership Weirton is held with support from a grant made possible by ArcelorMittal USA.

Youth Leadership begins in September, with a teamwork session at Elkhorn Valley obstacle course in Bergholz. From there, the class takes part in activities focusing on topics such as goal setting, ethics and understanding personalities. It is capped off with a Simulated Society exercise.

“We want them all to enjoy and learn from the program,” Mull said, explaining each class has been unique in how they approach the program, showcasing creativity and their own perspective.

“We hope you’ve enjoyed the experience you’ve had, and use what you’ve learned,” she told the students.

Members of the Class of 2020 include: Alexis Cipoletti, Emma Garvey, Jaclin Hedmond, Estella Lahita, Kalliopi Makricostas, Emma Martino and Sophia Rosso of Brooke High; Mark Pietranton, Sofia-Teresa DiBacco, Nathan Elias, Nicholas Elias, Eliza Greco, Kristina Lesho, Morgan Owens, Eleciana Patton and Angelina Spickard of Weirton Madonna; Ethan Arner, Sophia Arner, Paige Hooker, Kaylea Lantz, Lyndsay Reynolds and Ally Severs of Oak Glen; and Nicole Baselj, Taylor Haught, Angelina Howland, Emma Landis, Baylei Mills, Paige Reid, Thomas Wilson and Maria Yates of Weir High.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *


Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today