One week remains for candidate filings

From staff reports

WEIRTON – There is one week remaining for those interested in seeking public office in this year’s primary election to file their applications.

Candidates have until midnight, Jan. 29, to file for office, according to the West Virginia Secretary of State’s Office.

Interested candidates for federal, legislative, circuit and family court judicial seats, and elected offices that span more than one county can file at the Secretary of State’s Office in Charleston and the Secretary of State’s business hubs in Clarksburg and Martinsburg. Candidates for county-level offices can file with their local county clerk’s office.

Candidates also can mail certificates of announcement and filing fees to the Secretary of State’s Office. The certificate of announcement application is available at GoVoteWV.com.

The following candidates have filed for local office as of 5 p.m. Friday, according to the West Virginia Secretary of State’s website:

≤ U.S. House of Representatives, District 2

Alexander X. Mooney, Republican, of Charles Town

David B. McKinley, Republican, of Wheeling

Susan B. Lochocki, Republican, of Morgantown

Angela J. Dwyer, Democrat, of Martinsburg

Mike Seckman, Republican, of West Union

≤ West Virginia Senate District 1

Laura Wakim Chapman, Republican, of Wheeling

Randy Swartzmiller, Democrat, of Chester

Owens Brown, Democrat, of Wheeling

≤ West Virginia House of Delegates

Pat McGeehan, Republican, of Chester, District 1

Mark Zatezalo, Republican, of Weirton, District 2

≤ Brooke County Clerk

Kimberly Barbetta, Democrat, of Follansbee

≤ Brooke County Commission

Thomas Diserio, Republican, of Wellsburg, Brooke County Commission

Timothy Ennis, Democrat, of Wellsburg, Brooke County Commission

≤ Brooke County Magistrate Court

Shannon Price, of Wellsburg

≤ Brooke County Circuit Court Clerk

Glenda Brooks, Democrat, of Wellsburg

≤ Brooke County Board of Education

Ted Pauls, of Wellsburg

Chris Byers, of Weirton

≤ Hancock County Clerk

Valerie Truax, Republican, of Weirton

Karan (Baier) Valenti, Republican, of Weirton

≤ Hancock County Commission

Ted Arneault Jr., Republican, of New Cumberland

Paul Rex Cowey III, Republican, of Weirton

Bret Lemley, Republican, of New Cumberland

≤ Hancock County Circuit Court Clerk

Sandra (Sandy) Casto, Republican, of New Cumberland

≤ Hancock County Board of Education

Christina Lee Fair, of Weirton

Danny Kaser, of New Cumberland

Jim Horstman, of Weirton

Philip Rujak, of Weirton

≤ Hancock County Conservation District Supervisor

Jim Anderson, of New Cumberland

≤ Brooke County Executive Committees

Michael Traubert, Democrat, of Wellsburg, Brooke County Democratic Executive Committee (Male)

Amy Van Horn, Republican, of Bethany, Brooke County Republican Executive Committee (Female)

Heather E. Stone, Democrat, of Bethany, Brooke County Democratic Executive Committee (Female)

≤ Hancock County Executive Committees

Kathy Link, Democrat, of Weirton, Hancock County Democratic Executive Committee (Female)

The primary election has been scheduled for May 10.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *


Starting at $4.73/week.

Subscribe Today