Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Voters to head to polls Tuesday

November 5, 2012
By WARREN SCOTT - Staff writer ( , Weirton Daily Times

WELLSBURG - Besides races for U.S. president, U.S. senator, governor and several other state offices, ballots in Tuesday's general election will include candidates for Hancock County commissioner and magistrates, Hancock and Brooke county sheriffs and seats in the state Senate and House of Delegates representing the two counties.

Hancock County voters also will decide the fate of a levy for the Hancock County Sheltered Workshop, and all West Virginia voters will consider whether to end term limits for the state's sheriffs.

Polls will open at 6:30 a.m. and close at 7:30 p.m.

Running for a seat in the U.S. Senate are Democratic incumbent Joe Manchin of Fairmont and challengers John Raese, a Republican of Morgantown; and Mountain Party candidate Bob Henry Baber of Glenville.

Challengers Bill Maloney, a Republican of Morgantown; Mountain Party candidate Jesse Johnson of Elkview, and Democratic incumbent Earl Ray Tomblin of Chapmanville will seek the governor's seat.

Vying for a seat in the U.S. House of Representatives are Republican incumbent David McKinley and Democratic challenger Sue Thorn, both of Wheeling.

Vying for two seats in the state House of Delegates' representing the 1st District, which includes Hancock County and part of Brooke County, are: Democratic incumbents Ronnie Jones of Weirton and Randy Swartzmiller of Chester and Republican challengers Justin Bull and Carl Thompson, both of Weirton.

Competing for a seat in the House representing the 2nd District, which includes Brooke County and part of Ohio County, are: Republican Lynn Davis of Wellsburg and Democrat Phil Diserio of Follansbee.

Diserio was appointed to the seat earlier this year after Tim Ennis stepped down to serve as Brooke County Commissioner.

Seeking a seat in the state Senate representing Hancock, Brooke and Ohio counties and part of Marshall county are: Republican challenger Pat McGeehan of Chester and Democratic incumbent Jack Yost of Wellsburg.

Hancock County voters will be asked to consider renewal of a four-year levy that will raise $250,000 annually for the Hancock County Sheltered Workshop, which provides life skills and vocational training and employment to local residents with disabilities.

Hancock County ballots also will include four candidates for three county magistrate seats. They are: Democratic incumbents Betty Visnic Bauer, Scott Hicks and Mike Powell, all of Weirton; and Republican challenger Mike White of Weirton. Currently serving as the county's sheriff, White is unable to seek re-election to that post because of state term-limit regulations.

Also on the Hancock County ballot are two candidates for county commissioner: Democratic incumbent Jeff Davis of New Cumberland and Republican challenger Mark R. Tetrault of New Manchester; and two candidates for sheriff: Republican Ronald Haggerty Sr. and Democrat Ralph A. Fletcher, both of Weirton.

Brooke County voters also will determine who will serves as their sheriff. Democrat Chuck Jackson of Wellsburg had been declared the winner of a three-way race on the Democratic ticket for sheriff in May's primary election.

But Mike Allman, another candidate in that race, has filed as an official write-in candidate. Because of that status, his name won't appear on ballots. Voters will need to use the write-in option on the screen of the county's electronic voting machines to cast a vote for him.

Those with questions about doing that should approach an election clerk at their polling place or County Clerk Sylvia Benzo prior to the election.

There are no Republican candidates for Brooke County sheriff. Incumbent Richard Ferguson isn't permitted to seek another term under state law.

All West Virginia voters also will be asked to consider whether the law prohibiting county sheriffs from serving more than two consecutive terms should be changed. To allow sheriffs to serve more than two consecutive terms, voters should cast a vote for that amendment to the state constitution.

Voters who want to keep the two-term limitation should vote against the amendment.

The election also will determine the following other state offices:

Secretary of State: Republican challenger Brian Savilla and Democratic incumbent Natalie E. Tennant.

State auditor: Republican challenger Larry V. Faircloth and Democratic incumbent Glen B. Gainer III.

State treasurer: Republican challenger Mike Hall and Democratic incumbent John D. Perdue.

Commissioner of agriculture: Republican Kent Leonhardt and Democratic Walt Helmick.

Attorney general: Republican challenger Patrick Morrisey and Democratic incumbent Darrell V. McGraw Jr.

Supreme Court of Appeals justices (two): Republican challengers John Yoder and Allen Loughry, Democratic incumbent Robin Jean Davis and Democratic challenger Letitia "Tish"Chafin. Justice Thomas McHugh has stepped down from the other seat.

Brooke County voters may cast ballots at polling sites for their respective precincts. They are:

Wellsburg District: 1st Precinct, Wellsburg United Methodist Church, 11th and Charles streets; 4th Precinct, Wellsburg Primary School, Main Street entrance; 5th Precinct, Wellsburg Primary School, Charles Street entrance; 6th Precinct, Wellsburg fire station at 23rd Street; 11th Precinct, Beech Bottom Primary School; 14th Precinct, Bethany Town Building; 15th Precinct, McKinleyville Fire Club; 16th Precinct, Windsor Heights Firemen's Club; Precinct 21B, Franklin Primary School on state Route 27.

Follansbee District: 17th Precinct, Franklin Fire Dept, 960 Washington Pike, Wellsburg; Precinct 20B, New Day Christian Center at the intersection of Rabbit Hill Road and Pleasant Avenue; Precinct 21A, Board of Education Building, 1201 Pleasant Avenue, Wellsburg; Precinct 23A, Hooverson Heights Primary School; Precincts 23B and 23D, Hooverson Heights Fire Department; 28th Precinct Follansbee City Building; 31st Precinct, Jefferson Primary School, Jefferson Street, Follansbee; Precincts 32A and 33, Follansbee Middle School, Mark Avenue & Main Street.

Weirton District: 23C Precinct, Hooverson Heights Church of Christ, 102 Church Avenue; 24th Precinct, Colliers Primary School; 25th and 26th Precincts, Freedom Place II apartments at 3720 Main St., Weirton; 34th Precinct, Millsop Primary School, Marland Heights, Weirton; Precinct 35A, Open Door Baptist Church on Eldersville Road; Precinct 35B, Goodwill Grange on St. John's Road, Colliers; 36th Precinct, St. Thomas Episcopal Church, Three Springs Drive, Weirton.

Hancock County polling sites are:

Grant District: Precinct 1, Allen T. Allison Elementary; 2, Chester Volunteer Fire Department; 3, Newell Volunteer Fire Department; 4, Wells Center; 5, Lawrenceville Volunteer Fire Department; 6, Hancock County Senior Center; 7, Holiday Inn Express in Newell; 8, New Manchester Elementary; and 9, New Manchester Volunteer Fire Department.

Clay District: Precinct 10, New Cumberland City Building; 11, Point Pleasant Church; 12, Oakland Fire Department; 13, Get Together Picnic Grounds; 14, County Road Fire Station; 15, Dunbar Center; 16, Weirton Senior Center on Main Street; 17, Marland Heights Lions Club; 18, Marland Heights Fire Station; and 19, the Phoenix Society, 1331 Pennsylvania Ave.

Butler District: Precinct 20, Weir Middle School; 21, Hancock County Sheltered Workshop; 22, Weirton Heights Elementary; 23, Liberty School; 24, West Virginia Northern Community College, 25, Liberty School; 26, Gilson Avenue Fire Station; 27, Broadview School; and 28, United Methodist Church on Pennsylvania Avenue.

Those unsure of their precincts may call the Brooke County Clerk's office at (304) 737-3661 or Hancock County Clerk's Office at (304) 564-3311 ext. 288 or 282 in Hancock County.

(Scott can be contacted at

I am looking for: