Area nurses receive awards

EXCELLENCE — Nurses from Wheeling Hospital and its affiliates — Belmont Community Hospital, Harrison Community Hospital and Bishop Joseph H. Hodges Continuous Care Center — recently received nurse excellence awards during the annual awards ceremony. Honorees and nursing administration representatives at the event included, from left, Denise Kessler, Continuous Care Center nursing director; Sharon Sarcopski, family medicine director; Marcie Mayle, Continuous Care Center honoree; Amy Marty, physician practice division honoree; Carol Nice, Wheeling Hospital honoree; Norm Honecker, surgical services director; Jeanette Koleski, Harrison Community honoree; Barb Cefus, Belmont Community nursing supervisor; Aniemae Smith, Belmont Community honoree; Shirley Wallace, Belmont Community Lifetime Achievement Award; Donna Causey, Wheeling Hospital Lifetime Achievement Award; and Wendy Cook, Wheeling Hospital delivery room nurse manager.

WHEELING — Nurses from Wheeling Hospital and its affiliates — Belmont Community Hospital, Harrison Community Hospital and Bishop Joseph H. Hodges Continuous Care Center — were honored recently with nurse excellence awards.

Receiving recognition at the annual awards ceremony were registered nurse Carol Nice of Wheeling Hospital’s operating room; registered nurse Amy Marty, family medicine, Wheeling Hospital Physician Practice Division; registered nurse Aniemae Smith, Belmont Community; licensed practical nurse Marcie Mayle, Continuous Care Center; and registered nurse Jeanette Koleski, Harrison Community.

Honored with Wheeling Hospital’s Lifetime Achievement Award was registered nurse Donna Causey, clinical assistant in the delivery room. Causey is a 46-year employee of Wheeling Hospital.

Shirley Wallace, licensed practical nurse, recovery room, won the Belmont Community Lifetime Achievement Award. Wallace has been with the hospital for 62 years.

Also nominated for nurse excellence awards from Wheeling Hospital were Emily Kaniecki, Kasee Porter, Shelly Osborne, Chelsie Stidd, Helen Kempton, Adrianne Myers, Lysbeth Miravalle, Erika Smith, Sharon Lucas, Susie Fullerton, Lynn Degasperis, Katherine Shumate, Michelle Opic, Ryan Shreve, Korah Eckard, Zac Zabitski, Sherry Sanders, Gary Marshall, Terry Flick and Karen Yocum.

Other physician practice division nurses nominated were Cynthia Yahn, family medicine, and Randi Peck of the Belmont Community Health Center.

Also nominated at Harrison Community was Amy Sebring. At Continuous Care Center, the other nominees were Danielle Hamrick, Ashley Brown, Jackie Smolenak, Debbie Garr, Martha Bloomfield, Charles Goddard, Jean Snedecker, Linda Wisvari and Terri Arnold.

“We are extremely proud and blessed to have such a dedicated and talented team of nurses at Wheeling Hospital,” said Ron Violi, CEO of Wheeling Hospital.

“Our nurses associated with the entire Wheeling Hospital family are dedicated and committed in promoting and improving health care for our patients and our community,” said Kathy Stahl, Wheeling Hospital vice president and chief nursing officer. “I am very proud to be a part of our nursing work force and all that they do to improve the quality of patient care at Wheeling Hospital and all of our affiliates.”