Alpha Omicron Nu Chapter at EGCC hosts convention

STEUBENVILLE — The Alpha Omicron Nu Chapter at Eastern Gateway Community College hosted the Ohio Region Hallmark Convention of Phi Theta Kappa.

Forty-one state chapters were represented by 101 attendees.

“Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society traces its beginnings to Kappa Phi Omicron, an honorary group chartered with just six members in 1910 at Stephens College in Columbia, Mo. In the years that followed, Kappa Phi Omicron became one of many honorary groups in the state. In the spring of 1918, students and college presidents of eight Missouri junior colleges for women united at Stephens College to organize one new honor society with a common mission. They choose the name Phi Theta Kappa and model the newly formed organization after the senior college honor society Phi Beta Kappa. This year marks their 101 anniversary,” explained Karen Spindler, EGCC adviser.

Alpha Omicron Nu Chapter at EHCC is celebrating its 30th year as a chartered chapter of Phi Theta Kappa.

Students in community colleges are invited to join the honorary group after they have completed 12 credit hours and have achieved at least a 3.5 grade-point average. These students are then eligible to receive scholarships to complete their education. This includes any student from in-seat, online or CCP students.

Several scholarships and awards were given during the convention in Steubenville.

A total of $1,711 scholarships were distributed.

Each year, the Phi Theta Kappa Chapter needs to reach a five-star level to receive awards. Alpha Omicron Nu at EGCC achieved that status this year. Its project, which was a collaboration with EGCC President Jimmie Bruce and the chapter developed a strategy to reach all students. It is a program that is facilitated through EGCC Chapter Alpha Omicron Nu.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)