Campus news

Bethany College

BETHANY — Several local students are among incoming Bethany College freshmen who have been awarded the school’s top scholarships.

Sidney Felouzis of Weirton has been awarded Bethany’s Presidential Scholarship, which includes full tuition and is given to students considered to be in the highest academic standing.

Students accepted into Bethany’s honors program receive an annual $23,000 scholarship, along with participating in student-driven courses, living in the college’s honors dorms and receiving special opportunities outside the classroom.

Local recipients are: Jasmine DeMaria of Follansbee; Katie Elizabeth Diserio of Wellsburg; and Alexis Lee Holden-Kendra of New Cumberland.

Bethany’s Kalon Leaders Scholarship is an annual $20,000 award based on leadership, character, service and academic performance.

Local recipients are: Jordan Luke Brueck of Weirton; Felicity Eli of Bethany; Robert Edward Kain of Adena; and Anna Taylor of Steubenville.

Duquesne University

Veronica Phillipson of Wintersville has been named to the dean’s list for the spring semester from Duquesne University, Pittsburgh.

Slippery Rock University

Slippery Rock University has announced its dean’s list for the spring semester. The dean’s list consists of undergraduate students who earned an adjusted semester grade-point average of 3.5 or higher, based on a schedule of at least 12 newly attempted and earned credits.

Students on the dean’s list included Miranda Corrigan of Mingo Junction.

West Liberty University

WEST LIBERTY — The following area students were presented diplomas after earning master’s degrees at West Liberty University:

Raleigh B. Mason and Noah J. Teaff. both of Follansbee; Emmy M. Delekta of New Cumberland: Kayla M. Warrick of Wellsburg; Emiley Czesztyicki of Wellsburg; Brittany M. Herber, Zoei K. Kirk, Kassey H. Wagner, all of West Liberty; Megan C. Petrella and Colleen M.Peckens, both of Steubenville; and Sean P. Smith of Wintersville.

Undergraduates presented diplomas were: Noah W. Flowers, Rachel L. Halstead, Taylor A. McKay and Haylianne M. Murray, all of Chester; Aaron Hudson of Colliers; Sierra Bone, Anamaria C. Casinelli, Chad Harper, and Grant M. VanCamp, all of Follansbee; Rachel L. Garrett and Trey D. Smith, both of New Cumberland; August R. Alexander III, Jessica L. Alexander, Megan N. Apesos, Edward J. Aul, Jasmyn M. Brown, Leah Caparros, Adam J. Davis, Kameron L. Davis, Cody Enrietti, Ericka S. Fonner, Savanna K. Hibbits, Jennifer S. Kinder, Julia R. McElwee, Hannah J. Minger, Tasha N. Ocobock, Chancellor Penebaker, Anthony J. Sciarrino Jr., Morgan R. Snyder, Kelsey Weaver, Alyssa K. Wilson and Zongping Yu; all of Weirton; Kaitlyn D. Bilak, Destiny D. Brown, Courtney R. Elliott, Jason L. Freshwater, Kaleigh L. Hendrickson, Allison M. Jackson, Mikayla M. Misch, Hannah N. Mozingo, Amy N. Rine, Madison N. Roadman and Harley Wilson, all of Wellsburg; Jordan N. Magnani, Jordan C. McVey, Anton Schulz and Colleen J. Watkins, all of West Liberty; Stephanie A. Sliva of Adena; Skylar D. Fankhauser of Amsterdam; Alec Davis-Talbott and Miles R. Mazik, both of Mingo Junction; Abbie Leigh McCain, Rian Alexandria Trekal, both of Rayland; Charli J. McConnell of Richmond; Ryan J. Bernard, Glory D. Dami, Kira Newburn and Shannan Schramm, all of Steubenville; and Abagail E. Freeland of Tiltonsville.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)


Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today