JDR Career Center completers and seniors recognized at awards banquet

MISSION COMPLETED — The seniors and completers of the John D. Rockefeller IV Career Center were recognized at the annual awards banquet, May 8. The group included 78 students from Oak Glen High and Weir High. -- Contributed

NEW CUMBERLAND — The John D. Rockefeller IV Career Center honored graduating seniors and completers during a banquet held May 8.

The group included 78 students from Oak Glen and Weir high schools, as well their families. Also in attendance were Hancock County Board of Education members Dan Kaser and Toni Hinerman, Deputy Superintendent Dawn Petrovich, former Superintendent Suzan Smith, Oak Glen Principal Dave Smith, Weir High Principal Kristen Bissett and many other county school officials.

Dan Enich, director of the career center and secondary curriculum director, welcomed those in attendance.

Recipients of the Outstanding Achievement Award, presented to students who have exceeded all program requirements, were: Auto Collision Technology – Cody Fisher, Automotive Technology – Luke Bailey, Carpentry – Elias Elo, Diesel Technology – Nathan Stierwalt, Electronics Technology – Nathan Davis, Graphic Design — Piper Adkins, Health Science Education — Sierra Lonkert, Health Science Education — Charly Gibson, Pro Start Culinary — Breanna Petrella, and Welding Technology — Layne Crawford.

Outstanding Clinical Performance is awarded to Health Science students who excelled during clinicals at Stone Pear Pavilion. Recipients were Charly Gibson and Sierra Lonkert.

Students were inducted into the National Technical Honor Society. The NTHS honors student achievement and leadership in Career and Technical Education. The students inducted included: Shelby Beagle, Kiera Carson, Christian Evans, Joshua Fidler, Cody Fisher, Charly Gibson, Logan Gillespie, Kylee Haynes, Mackenzie Long, Sierra Lonkert, Kaitlyn Lucas, Jada McDole, Seana McNeely, Logan Meadows, Marc Osaba, Cameron Oulds, Hannah Patterson, Breanna Petrella, Kristina Pugh, Jazmin Swain, Cody Tate, Matthew Williams and Hannah Walker.

WV Governor’s Workforce Credential was created to ensure that West Virginia’s developing workforce has industry ready skills to meet high quality business and industry expectations. The WV Governor’s Workforce Credential allows employers to identify those potential employees for high quality job openings. Karissa Poszywak, JDRCC assistant principal, recognized the following students with this achievement: Tyler Coble, Charly Gibson, Sierra Lonkert, Jada McDole, Seana McNeely, Logan Meadows, Breanna Petrella and Hannah Walker.

Poszywak also presented Perfect Attendance Awards to students who had perfect attendance throughout the 2018-2019 school year. Those students receiving this recognition were Austin Meto, Zachary Nolder, Jasmine West, Cody Davis, Logan Gillespie, Layne Crawford, Konnor Kerr, Cameron Oulds and Matthew Williams.

Certificates were given to seniors for the number of hours each student accrued during their time in the JDRCC simulated workplace. Students receiving certificates included:

¯ Auto Collision Technology/Milt O’Mery, instructor — Brandon Bailey, Tina Cooper, Tyler Cronin, Cody Fisher, Tyler Kubisky, Zachary Orgovan, Cody Tate, Anthony Vause, Tre Volpatti and Wayne Zapotoczny

¯ Automotive Technology/Jeff Hardy and Gordon Anderson, instructors — Luke Bailey, James Bennett, Dylan Crago, Joshua Fidler, Logan Konchar, Cole Masters, Robert May, Logan Meadows, Kyle Sandy, Dereck Vargas and Zackary Yarnevic

¯ Carpentry/Steve Shannon, instructor — Shelby Beagle, Elias Elo, Mark Strong, Gabriel Vasconcellos, and Xavier Wolverton

¯ Diesel Technology/Jim Luevano, instructor — Austin Cain, Jacob Collins, Corey Kelly, Ian Kinney, Austin Meto, Zachary Nolder, Nathaniel Paris, Kobe Powell, Nathan Stierwalt, Frederick West and Jasmine West

¯ Electronics Technology/Dan Koller, instructor — Chance Aurand, Cody Davis, Nathan Davis, and Kory Rhodes

¯ Graphic Design/Elizabeth Walsh — Piper Adkins

¯ Health Science Education/Wendy DeAngelis, instructor — Brandon Altman, Kiera Carson, Dan Dwoskin, Charly Gibson, Mackenzie Long, Seana McNeely, Samantha Thomas, and Merry Yates

¯ Health Science Education/Joan Murray — Sierra Lonkert, Kylee Haynes, Jada McDole, Hannah Walker, Alexis Kosut and Jazmin Swain

¯ ProStart Culinary/Chef Steven Fuscardo, instructor — Madison Barnhart, Jordyn Boyd, Michael Callarik, Tyler Coble, Logan Gillespie, Brittany Keeper, Kaitlin Lucas, Hanna Patterson, Breanna Petrella, Parker Provenzano and Angela Wells-McIntosh

¯ Welding Technology/Jim Chappell, instructor — Nathan Coble, Layne Crawford, Christian Evans, Clark Geer II, Konnor Kerr, Marc Osaba, Cameron Oulds, Kristina Pugh, Keith Summers, Jacob Warrick and Matthew Williams

Several scholarships were given during the banquet. Betsy Wells and Joyce Young from the Northern Panhandle Lions Club presented this year’s Lions Club Scholarship to Layne Crawford. The Orchards of Foxcrest Scholarship, represented by Maria Boyd, human resources assistant from The Orchards, was presented to Jada McDole. The Serra Village/ WGC Foundation Scholarship was awarded to Sierra Lonkert.

Enich presented the Director’s Award, chosen from those students who were awarded the Outstanding Achievement Award, to Layne Crawford.