Chester election results are made official

CHESTER — Following a canvassing, the results of Chester’s recent municipal election have become official.

The city held its election June 14, with only one contested race among the search for seven elected positions. Voters also approved a change to the city charter which will make the position of Chester city clerk a hired post instead of an elected office.

In the contested race for the Ward 1 Council seat, Nathan Wright received the most support with 19 votes over Tom Paisley, who received six votes.

Ed Wedgewood will be the city’s new mayor, receiving 58 votes. Current mayor, Ken Morris, opted not to seek re-election.

Courtney Sanlo will serve as city clerk, receiving 49 votes.

Of the remaining council seats, John “Woody” Woodruff received six votes for Ward 2; Michael Dotson Sr. received 13 votes for Ward 3; Jason Thorn received seven votes for Ward 4; and Steve Shuman received four votes for Ward 5.

The charter change, establishing the city clerk as a hired, career-level post instead of an elected office, was approved by 43 votes in favor of the change, and 20 votes against.

The charter change will go into effect July 1, 2026, or whenever the post next becomes vacant.

The terms for Chester Council, mayor and city clerk will begin Friday.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *


Starting at $4.73/week.

Subscribe Today